The University’s mission includes the transmission and advancement of knowledge and understanding, the pursuit of which is dependent upon the ability of our faculty and students to remain free to inquire, to study and to evaluate, to gain new maturity and understanding. The University supports and encourages freedom of inquiry for faculty members and students, to the end that they may responsibly pursue these goals through teaching, learning, research, discussion, and publication, free from internal or external restraints that would unreasonably restrict their academic endeavors. The University has explicitly stated that faculty and students of the University share the responsibility for maintaining an environment in which academic freedom flourishes and in which the rights of each member of the academic community are respected. Academic freedom has indeed been acknowledged by the Supreme Court as “of transcendent value to all of us” and “a special concern of the First Amendment, which does not tolerate laws that cast a pall of orthodoxy over the classroom.”

Pursuant to the Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act, the chair of the Board of Governors has designated the Board’s Committee on University Governance as the statutorily mandated Committee on Free Expression.

Resources

2019-20 Report on Free Speech and Expression Within the University (approved on September 17, 2020)

2018-19 Report on Free Speech and Expression Within the University (approved on September 19, 2019)

2017-18 Report on Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University (approved on September 12, 2018)

UNC Policy 1300.8 (Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University of North Carolina)

Chapter 600 of The Code (Freedom and Responsibility in the University Community)

Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act (G.S. 116-300)

Article I, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution, Freedom of speech and press.  Freedom of speech and of the press are two of the great bulwarks of liberty and therefore shall never be restrained, but every person shall be held responsible for their abuse.

Responsible Officers Across the UNC System

Each UNC constituent institution must identify officer(s) and/or offices or departments with responsibilities for ensuring compliance with the law and UNC policy, and for answering any related questions or concerns from students, faculty members, staff employees, or others.

INSTITUTIONRESPONSIBLE OFFICER(S)TITLEEMAIL
APP STATEJeff CatheyInterim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairscatheyjd@appstate.edu
APP STATEJacqui BergmanVice Provost for Faculty Affairsbergmanjz@appstate.edu
ECUPaul ZigasInterim University Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal AffairsZIGASP@ecu.edu
ECSUAlyn GoodsonGeneral Counselagoodson@ecsu.edu
ECSUTiffany HintonDirector of Community Standardstrhinton@ecsu.edu
FSUWanda JenkinsGeneral Counselwljenkins@uncfsu.edu
FSUAngel PowellAssistant General Counselbpowell3@uncfsu.edu
FSURegina RudisillDirector of Student Conductrcrudisill01@uncfsu.edu
N.C. A&TMelissa Jackson HollowayGeneral Counselmjholloway@ncat.edu
NCCUJoy HartfieldDirector of Student Conduct and Community Standardsjhartfield@nccu.edu
NC STATEWarwick ArdenExecutive Vice Chancellor and Provostwarwick_arden@ncsu.edu or
provost@ncsu.edu
NC STATEBrent McConkeyAssistant General Counselbrent_mcconkey@ncsu.edu
NC STATELisa ZapataSenior Associate Vice Chancellorlisa_zapata@ncsu.edu
UNCAHeather ParlierVice Chancellor for Human Resources, Institutional Equity, and General Counselhparlier@unca.edu
UNC-CHJean EliaAssociate Provostjelia@email.unc.edu
UNC-CHBecci MenghiniSenior Associate Vice Chancellor, Equal Opportunity/Compliancebecci_menghini@unc.edu
UNC-CHJonathan SaulsDean of Studentsjsauls@email.unc.edu
UNC-CHKim Strom-GottfriedDirector, Ethics Education and Policy Management, and
Smith P. Theimann Distinguished Professor, School of Social Work
ksg@unc.edu
UNCCJesh HumphreyVice Chancellor for Institutional Integrity and General Counseljesh.humphrey@uncc.edu
UNCCSamantha SearsDeputy General Counselssears4@uncc.edu
UNCGAlan BoyetteSenior Vice Provostboyette@uncg.edu
UNCPR. Travis BryantAssoc. VC for Campus Safety and Emergency OperationsTravis.Bryant@uncp.edu
UNCSADavid HarrisonGeneral Counselharrisondl@uncsa.edu
UNCWJohn SchererGeneral Counselschererj@uncw.edu
WCUShea BrowningGeneral Counselsrbrowning@email.wcu.edu
WSSUCornelius GravesDirector of Government & Community Relationsgravescc@wssu.edu
UNC SYSTEMJohn J. DoughertyAssistant General Counseljjdougherty@northcarolina.edu

Information current as of August 4, 2020.