Campus Free Speech and Free Expression

 

As the nation’s first public university, the University of North Carolina affirms its long-standing commitment to free speech and free expression for its students, faculty members, staff employees, and visitors under the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and Article 1, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution. The University and its constituent institutions protect and promote these freedoms, consistent with First Amendment jurisprudence. Through its policies, the University has expressly established that no employment decision or academic decision shall be based on the exercise of these constitutional rights.

The University’s mission includes the transmission and advancement of knowledge and understanding, the pursuit of which is dependent upon the ability of our faculty and students to remain free to inquire, to study and to evaluate, to gain new maturity and understanding. The University supports and encourages freedom of inquiry for faculty members and students, to the end that they may responsibly pursue these goals through teaching, learning, research, discussion, and publication, free from internal or external restraints that would unreasonably restrict their academic endeavors. The University has explicitly stated that faculty and students of the University share the responsibility for maintaining an environment in which academic freedom flourishes and in which the rights of each member of the academic community are respected. Academic freedom has indeed been acknowledged by the Supreme Court as “of transcendent value to all of us” and “a special concern of the First Amendment, which does not tolerate laws that cast a pall of orthodoxy over the classroom.”

Pursuant to the Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act, the Chair of the Board of Governors has designated the Board's Committee on University Governance as the statutorily mandated Committee on Free Expression.

 

Resources

2017-2018 Report on Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University (approved by the Board of Governors on September 12, 2018)

UNC Policy 1300.8 (Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University of North Carolina)

Chapter 600 of The Code (Freedom and Responsibility in the University Community)

Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 116-300)

Article I, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution

 

Responsible Officers Across the UNC System

Each UNC constituent institution must identify officer(s) and/or offices or departments with responsibilities for ensuring compliance with the law and UNC policy, and for answering any related questions or concerns from students, faculty members, staff employees, or others.

INSTITUTION

RESPONSIBLE OFFICER(S)

TITLE

EMAIL

APP STATE

Jacqui Bergman

Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

bergmanjz@appstate.edu

Jonathon Hyde

AVC and Dean of Students

hydejm@appstate.edu

ECU

Donna Payne

University Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs

payned@ecu.edu

ECSU

Alyn Goodson

General Counsel

agoodson@ecsu.edu

Kathryn Underwood-Melton

Title IX Coordinator/Investigator and Government Relations Officer

nkunderwood@ecsu.edu

FSU

Wanda Jenkins

General Counsel

wljenkins@uncfsu.edu

Angel Powell

Assistant General Counsel

bpowell3@uncfsu.edu

Regina Rudisill

Director of Student Conduct

rcrudisill01@uncfsu.edu

N.C. A&T

Kathy Murphy

Interim General Counsel

kamurphy@ncat.edu

NCCU

Toya Corbett

 Assistant Vice Chancellor & Dean of Students

tcorbet7@nccu.edu

NC STATE

Warwick Arden

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

warwick_arden@ncsu.edu or
provost@ncsu.edu

Fashaad Crawford

Associate Vice Provost for Assessment and Accreditation

flcrawfo@ncsu.edu

Brent McConkey

Assistant General Counsel

brent_mcconkey@ncsu.edu

Lisa Zapata

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor

lisa_zapata@ncsu.edu

UNCA

Bill Haggard

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

bhaggard@unca.edu

Karin Peterson

Acting Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

kpeterso@unca.edu

UNC-CH

Jean Elia

Associate Provost for Strategy and Special Projects

jelia@email.unc.edu

Becci Menghini

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Equal Opportunity/Compliance

becci_menghini@unc.edu

Jonathan Sauls

Dean of Students

jsauls@email.unc.edu

Kim Strom-Gottfried

Director, Ethics Education and Policy Management, and
Smith P. Theimann Distinguished Professor, School of Social Work

ksg@unc.edu

UNCC

Jesh Humphrey

Vice Chancellor for Institutional Integrity and General Counsel

jesh.humphrey@uncc.edu

Samantha Sears

Deputy General Counsel

ssears4@uncc.edu

UNCG

Alan Boyette

Senior Vice Provost

boyette@uncg.edu

UNCP

R. Travis Bryant

Assoc. VC for Campus Safety and Emergency Operations

Travis.Bryant@uncp.edu

UNCSA

David Harrison

General Counsel

harrisondl@uncsa.edu

Ward Caldwell

Vice Provost & Dean of Student Affairs

caldwellw@uncsa.edu

UNCW

John Scherer

General Counsel

schererj@uncw.edu

WCU

Shea Browning

General Counsel

srbrowning@email.wcu.edu

WSSU

Cornelius Graves

Director of Government & Community Relations

gravescc@wssu.edu

UNC SYSTEM

Joanna Carey Cleveland

Vice President for Legal Affairs and Deputy General Counsel

jccleveland@northcarolina.edu

Information current as of September 21, 2018.

 

Accessibility options

Interface
Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.