Please visit the Coronavirus Resource Center . We are actively monitoring the situation and will keep this site updated with the latest policies and information.

Campus Free Speech and Free Expression


As the nation’s first public university, the University of North Carolina affirms its long-standing commitment to free speech and free expression for its students, faculty members, staff employees, and visitors under the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and Article 1, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution. The University and its constituent institutions protect and promote these freedoms, consistent with First Amendment jurisprudence. Through its policies, the University has expressly established that no employment decision or academic decision shall be based on the exercise of these constitutional rights.

The University’s mission includes the transmission and advancement of knowledge and understanding, the pursuit of which is dependent upon the ability of our faculty and students to remain free to inquire, to study and to evaluate, to gain new maturity and understanding. The University supports and encourages freedom of inquiry for faculty members and students, to the end that they may responsibly pursue these goals through teaching, learning, research, discussion, and publication, free from internal or external restraints that would unreasonably restrict their academic endeavors. The University has explicitly stated that faculty and students of the University share the responsibility for maintaining an environment in which academic freedom flourishes and in which the rights of each member of the academic community are respected. Academic freedom has indeed been acknowledged by the Supreme Court as “of transcendent value to all of us” and “a special concern of the First Amendment, which does not tolerate laws that cast a pall of orthodoxy over the classroom.”

Pursuant to the Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act, the chair of the Board of Governors has designated the Board's Committee on University Governance as the statutorily mandated Committee on Free Expression.



2018-19 Report on Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University (approved on September 19, 2019)

2017-18 Report on Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University (approved on September 12, 2018)

UNC Policy 1300.8 (Free Speech and Free Expression Within the University of North Carolina)

Chapter 600 of The Code (Freedom and Responsibility in the University Community)

Restore/Preserve Campus Free Speech Act (G.S. 116-300)

Article I, Section 14 of the North Carolina Constitution, Freedom of speech and press.  Freedom of speech and of the press are two of the great bulwarks of liberty and therefore shall never be restrained, but every person shall be held responsible for their abuse.


Responsible Officers Across the UNC System

Each UNC constituent institution must identify officer(s) and/or offices or departments with responsibilities for ensuring compliance with the law and UNC policy, and for answering any related questions or concerns from students, faculty members, staff employees, or others.






Jeff Cathey

Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Jacqui Bergman

Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs


Paul Zigas

Interim University Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs


Alyn Goodson

General Counsel

Tiffany Hinton

Director of Community Standards


Wanda Jenkins

General Counsel

Angel Powell

Assistant General Counsel

Regina Rudisill

Director of Student Conduct

N.C. A&T

Melissa Jackson Holloway

General Counsel


Joy Hartfield

Director of Student Conduct and Community Standards


Warwick Arden

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost or

Brent McConkey

Assistant General Counsel

Lisa Zapata

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor


Clifton Williams

University Counsel


Jean EliaAssociate Provost

Becci Menghini

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Equal Opportunity/Compliance

Jonathan Sauls

Dean of Students

Kim Strom-Gottfried

Director, Ethics Education and Policy Management, and
Smith P. Theimann Distinguished Professor, School of Social Work


Jesh Humphrey

Vice Chancellor for Institutional Integrity and General Counsel

Samantha Sears

Deputy General Counsel


Alan Boyette

Senior Vice Provost


R. Travis Bryant

Assoc. VC for Campus Safety and Emergency Operations


David Harrison

General Counsel

Ward Caldwell

Vice Provost & Dean of Student Affairs


John Scherer

General Counsel


Shea Browning

General Counsel


Cornelius Graves

Director of Government & Community Relations


John J. Dougherty

Assistant General Counsel

Information current as of December 19, 2019.


Accessibility options

Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.