As set forth by the UNC System Quality Matters (QM) Council, the objective of the System-wide QM program is to guide participating institutions and faculty through the successful implementation and sustainable broad-scale online, hybrid and remote course quality. The UNC System Office, Digital Learning Department supports the QM Council and the broader QM program by:

  • Providing leadership and funding for a System-wide QM membership which reduces individual institution membership fees by over 50%
  • Establishing, leading and funding targeted faculty QM development initiatives aimed at increasing System-wide QM training and certification skillsets in support of creating a scalable QM program

Today, all 17 UNC System institutions, and over 3,000 faculty, participate in the QM program through various online support tools and training events offered across our the System and by the QM organization.

QM from the faculty perspective

UNC System faculty who have adopted the QM methodology to enhance the quality of their online, hybrid and remote learning courses identify several key factors to their success, including:

  • QM enables a course design environment that fosters creativity
  • The QM rubrics and tools support and guide efficient transition to online and remote learning
  • The QM methodology supports proactive course design to address elements of accessibility, assessment, enhanced engagement, and student support

Play the video above to learn more about why faculty across the UNC System are adopting the QM methodology.

How to Get involved with the QM community

Create a Free QM Account and Access Course Design and Training Resources

Create a MyQM account to start using the Quality Matters resources available through the UNC System-wide QM contract.

Go to MyQM: www.qmprogram.org/myqm/

  1. Input your institutional email address 
  2. Select “No, I am new here”
  3. Select Sign In

Contact Your Regional or Campus QM Coordinator

Regional Representatives serve as liaisons between institutional QM Coordinators, the UNC System QM Council, and the System Office. They ensure timely communication of System-wide QM program information to their respective regional institutions and advocate for the interests of the same within the Council. QM Coordinators work with faculty to apply the QM methodology to their online, hybrid and remote courses and implement institution-specific faculty QM development plans.

Region and CampusName and eMail Address
Region 1 – NortheastAndrew Horne (horne16@ecu.edu)
ECUAndrew Horne (horne16@ecu.edu)
Percevial Murphy (murphyp@ecu.edu)
Sarah Williams (williamssar@ecu.edu)
ECSUKim Stevenson (knstevenson@ecsu.edu)
Tina Gregory (tlgregory3@ecsu.edu)
Region 2 – Southeast & Region 4 SandhillsTBD
FSUBonnie Grohe (bgrohe@uncfsu.edu)
Shuntá Hailey (shailey1@uncsfsu.edu)
Janes Heard (jheard@uncfsu.edu)
Claudette Fuller (cfuller@uncfsu.edu)
UNCPTerry Locklear (terry.locklear@uncp.edu)
UNCWZach Morgan (morganz@uncw.edu)
Sheri Conklin (conklins@uncw.edu)
Region 3 – North CentralBethanne Tobey (bwtobey@ncsu.edu)
NCCURacheal Brooks (rmbrooks@nccu.edu)
Kimberly McGhee (kpmcghee@nccu.edu)
Tyheshia Martin (tmartin@nccu.edu)
NCSSMRobert Caldwell (caldwell@ncssm.edu)
NCSUBethanne Tobey (bwtobey@ncsu.edu)
David Howard (david_howard@ncsu.edu)
Arlene Mendoza-Moran (ajmendoz@ncsu.edu)
UNCCHGigi Dillon (gigi.dillon@unc.edu)
Region 5 – Piemont-Triad & Region 6 SouthwestDean Adams (dean.adams@uncc.edu)
NCA&TTracie Lewis (tolewis@ncat.edu)
UNCCDean Adams (dean.adams@uncc.edu)
Enoch Park (epark17@uncc.edu)
UNCGChris Dunst (cbdunst@uncg.edu)
Susie Boles (sebaker2@uncg.edu)
UNCSoATBD
WSSUBart Ganzert (ganzertby@wssu.edu)
Wanda White (whitewd@wssu.edu)
Region 7 – Northwest & Region 8 – WesternRachel Clark (clarke2@appstate.edu)
ASURachel Clark (clarke2@appstate.edu)
Emory Maiden (maidenev3@appstate.edu)
Tom Van Gilder (vangildertm@appstate.edu)
UNCALyndi Hewitt (lhewitt@unca.edu)
WCUEli Collins-Brown (ecollinsbrown@wcu.edu)
UNC System OfficeJohn Falchi (jjfalchi@northcarolina.edu)

Review the Quality Matters Resources for Faculty

As System Subscribers to the Quality Matters program, all UNC System faculty have access to these helpful resources: