The first UNC System Collegiate Recovery Communities (CRC) were established in 2013 with funding from the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). There are currently 13 institutions in the UNC System with thriving Collegiate Recovery Communities and UNC Asheville is establishing a community this fall. These 14 institutions are all supported by DHHS funding. These communities are comprised of students in recovery as well as student allies. CRC Coordinators provide a broad spectrum of programming throughout the year including group outings and sober tailgates, tabling events for awareness and educational training opportunities. The UNC System serves as the fiscal agent and partners with Addiction Professionals of North Carolina (APNC) who help to facilitate and strengthen programmatic efforts.

Collegiate Recovery Communities

Appalachian State University

Elizabeth City State University

East Carolina University

Fayetteville State University

North Carolina A&T State University

NC State University

North Carolina Central University

UNC Asheville (Coming Soon!)

UNC Charlotte

UNC-Chapel Hill

UNC Greensboro

UNC Pembroke

UNC Wilmington

Winston-Salem State University