University Council on International Programs

The University Council on International Programs (UCIP) is the primary body charged with overseeing, coordinating, and advocating for the UNC System’s global affairs divisions and their activities including international students’ affairs, institutional exchange programs, global partnerships, and study abroad programs among others. The council is composed of the senior international officers and their designees from each of the 17 constituent institutions. UNC System Office Staff and Go Global NC leadership serve as ex-officio members. The senior vice president of Academic Affairs appoints the council chair for a term of two years.

The current chair of the UCIP is Joël A. Gallegos, UNC Charlotte. The current point of contact at the System Office is Michelle Soler, Director of Undergraduate Programs & Assessments. Current members of the UCIP are provided below as they represent their respective institution on this council.

InstitutionNameTitleEmailPhone
Appalachian StateJesse Lutabingwa, Ph.D.Associate Vice Chancellor for International Education & Developmentlutabingwajl@appstate.edu828-262-2046
Chrisse Faupel, Ph.D.Director, Education Abroadfaupelcl@appstate.edu828-262-6692
East Carolina
Jon Rezek, Ph.D.Assistant Vice Chancellor for Global Affairsrezekjo17@ecu.edu252-328-1936
Jami Leibowitz, Ph.D.Associate Director, Office of Global Affairs; Director, Global Academic Initiativesleibowitzj@ecu.edu252-328-9447
Elizabeth City StateAndre Stevenson, Ph.D.Director, Office or International Programs + Professor of H&HSapstevenson@ecsu.edu252-335-3678
Fayetteville StateSharmila Udyavar, Ed.D.Director (Interim), Office of International Programssudyavar@uncfsu.edu910-672-2971
N. C. A&T StateLoretha GravesDirector of International Affairsloreatha@ncat.edu336-334-7104 
Ronice Johnson-GuyInterim Assistant Director for Study Abroadrljohnson@ncat.edu336-285-2602
NC CentralOlivia Metzger Jones, Ph.D.Assistant Director, Office of International Affairs; Study Abroad & ISSS Advisor (DSO ARO)ojones@nccu.edu919-530-7713
NCSSMJamie Lathan, Ph.D.Interim Vice Chancellor for Distance Education & Extended Programslathan@ncssm.edu919-416-2721
Julie FioreSummer & Extended Programs Managerjulia.fiore@ncssm.edu919-416-2969
NC StateBailian Li, Ph.D.Senior Vice Provost for Global Engagementbailian@ncsu.edu919-515-3201
Kim PriebeDirector of Study Abroadkspriebe@ncsu.edu919-515-2087
UNC AshevilleDiana RoyerUniversity Program Specialistdroyer@unca.edu828-232-5037
Deaver TraywickSenior Director of Academic Success & Managing Director of Strategy and Analyticstraywick@unca.edu828-251-6001
UNC-Chapel HillHeather WardAssociate Vice Provost for Global Affairsheather.ward@unc.edu919-962-1051
Jason KinnearInterim Associate Dean of Study Abroad & Exchangesjason.kinnear@unc.edu919-962-8319
UNC CharlotteJoël A. GallegosAssistant Provost for International Programsjagalleg@uncc.edu704-687-7755
Brad SekulichDirector of Education Abroad sekulich@uncc.edu704-687-7747
UNC GreensboroMaria Anastasiou, Ph.D.Associate Provost, International Programsm_anastasio@uncg.edu336-334-5404
Denise BellamySenior Director, International Programs; Director, Study Abroad and Exchangesdlbellam@uncg.edu336-334-5404
UNC PembrokeCathy Lee T. Arcuino, Ph.D.Associate Vice Chancellor, Global Engagementcathylee.arcuino@uncp.edu910-775-4718
UNC WilmingtonMichael WilhelmAssociate Provost Global Partnerships and International Educationwilhelmm@uncw.edu910-962-2736
Kara Pike Inman, Ph.D.Director, Education Abroadpikek@uncw.edu910-962-3685
UNC School of the ArtsTaWanna ArchiaInternational Advisor, Principal Designated School Official (PDSO)archiat@uncsa.edu336-770-1305
Western CarolinaWes Milner, Ph.D.Director of International Programswmilner@wcu.edu828-227-3433
Kaitlin RitchieAssociate Director, Office of International Programskkritchie@wcu.edu828-227-2567
Winston-Salem StateDeana BrimStudy Abroad/ISS Advisorbrimde@wssu.edu336-750-3345
James Pope, Ph.D.Interim Director, Office of International Programspopejr@wssu.edu336-750-2306
UNC SystemMichelle Soler, Ph.D.Director of Undergraduate Programs & Assessmentmlsoler@northcarolina.edu919-966-3202
David English, Ph.D.VP of Academic Programs, Research & Facultydjenglish@northcarolina.edu919-962-2620
Go Global NCMeredith Henderson Executive Directormlh@globalnc.org919-237-7953
Rachel PageDeputy Directorrachel.page@globalnc.org919-237-7957