The UNC System Office houses the offices of the President and other senior administrative officers of the multi-campus University of North Carolina System.

This core administrative staff is responsible for executing the policies of the UNC Board of Governors and providing University-wide leadership in the areas of academic affairs, business and financial management, long-range planning, student affairs, research, legal affairs, and government relations.

The UNC System Office also has administrative oversight of a number of University affiliates, including UNC-TV, the North Carolina Arboretum, the NC State Education Assistance Authority, the University of North Carolina Press, and Go Global NC.

Leadership and Organizational Structure

Peter Hans

  • Norma Houston
    Chief of Staff
    (919) 962-3910
  • Michael Vollmer
    Chief Operating Officer
    (919) 843-7338
  • Dr. David J. English
    Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer
    (919) 962-2620
  • Jennifer Haygood
    Senior Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
    (919) 962-4600
  • Andrew P. Kelly
    Senior Vice President for Strategy and Policy
    (919) 962-5568
  • Andrew Tripp
    Senior Vice President for Legal Affairs & General Counsel
    (919) 962-4588
  • Bart Goodson
    Senior Vice President of Government Relations
    (919) 962-1000
  • Thomas Walker
    Senior Advisor for Economic Development and Military Affairs
    (919) 843-5369
  • Darryl Bass
    Vice President for Human Resources
    (919) 445-0486
  • Andrea Poole
    Executive Director, North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority