CHAPEL HILL, NC – The University of North Carolina Board of Governors has selected 17 outstanding faculty members to receive the 2022 Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The recipients, who represent all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities and the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, were nominated by special committees at each institution and selected by the Board of Governors Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs.

Established by the board in 1993 to highlight the importance of teaching, the awards recognize the extraordinary contributions of faculty members System-wide.

“We are proud to honor these impressive recipients,” said UNC Board of Governors Chair Randy Ramsey. “Each of them applies creativity and excellence to their time in the classroom, making a profound impact in how students learn.”

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize. The award winners will be honored at each of their institutions at a future date.

“These instructors represent the finest our state has to offer, and we are proud to honor and acknowledge them with these awards,” said UNC System President Peter Hans. “My thanks to these faculty members for their contributions to the high-quality education our students receive every day.”

The 2022 recipients are: 

  • Reeves Shulstad, Appalachian State University
  • Teresa Ryan, East Carolina University
  • Kulwinder Kaur-Walker, Elizabeth City State University
  • Kimberly Smith Burton, Fayetteville State University
  • Robert H. Newman, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Timothy Mulrooney, North Carolina Central University
  • Laura I. Clarke, North Carolina State University
  • Katherine C. Zubko, University of North Carolina Asheville
  • Geoffrey Sayre-McCord, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Anabel Aliaga-Buchenau, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Nadja B. Cech, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • William Stewart Thomas, University of North Carolina at Pembroke
  • Brian S. Arbogast, University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Jamie Call Blankinship, University of North Carolina School of the Arts
  • Sudhir Kaul, Western Carolina University
  • Amber DeBono, Winston-Salem State University
  • Cheryl Gann, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

View teaching philosophies and photos of all 17 award recipients.