The UNC System understands that students who have served in the United States Military and have either an ‘active duty’ or ‘veteran’ status have unique needs to consider. With 16 universities, the UNC System can offer a program of study to suit practically any interest and professional aspiration. Just as crucially, when military transfer students arrive at one of our institutions, they will find a welcoming sense of community. On every campus, students will find supportive staff and the comradery of others with military experience.

Special Considerations for Military Transfer Students

The UNC System works to make the process of transitioning from the service into the classroom an easy one. Every one of our institutions has a counselor on staff with specific expertise helping military students enter the University.

Military students also earn credit for the education and work they’ve already completed during their service. This ensures that military transfer students can progress toward their degrees more efficiently and quickly. The UNC System utilizes an innovative new database system to award credit for military experience and training. If you are a military transfer student, this database will give you and your counselor complete and precise information about the credit you will earn for your military service, no matter which UNC System institution you choose to attend or what program you want to study.

In addition, military students are:

  • eligible for waivers or discounts on application or enrollment fees;
  • exempt from standardized test submissions;
  • entitled to priority registration;
  • eligible for scholarships; and
  • invited to dedicated military-focused orientation sessions.

How do I transfer to a UNC System Institution from the Military?

  1. Select a campus.
  2. Choose a degree program using the Program and Degree Finder (also called the Academic Program Inventory or API).
  3. Apply through the campus of your choice or visit CFNC.org.
  4. Contact the Military Transfer Office at the campus of your choice.
  5. Contact the transfer counselor at the campus of your choice.
  6. Review information provided by the finance office (including G.I. Bill) on the campus of your choice.

Military Transfer Offices

Appalachian State University
East Carolina University
Elizabeth City State University
Fayetteville State University
North Carolina A&T State University
North Carolina Central University
North Carolina State University
UNC Asheville
UNC-Chapel Hill
UNC Charlotte
UNC Greensboro
UNC Pembroke
UNC School of the Arts
UNC Wilmington
Western Carolina University
Winston-Salem State University

Military Affairs
Points of Contact

InstitutionMilitary Affairs
Point of Contact
EmailTitlePhone
Appalachian StateJennifer Coffeycoffeyjd1@appstate.eduProgram Director of Student Veteran Services828.262.7473 
East CarolinaJeff Neztniknetznikj@ecu.eduAssociate Director for Military Outreach252.737.2018
Elizabeth City StateTimoth Freemantdfreeman@ecsu.eduDirector of Military Affairs252.335.3253
Fayetteville StateVeronica Alexandervalexander@uncfsu.eduDirector of Military Affairs910.672.2963/2965
N.C. A&T StateJoshua Jonesjtjones3@ncat.eduDirector, Veterans and Military Affairs336.398.8651
NC CentralHepston Henryhhenryii@nccu.eduVeterans Affairs Coordinator919.530.5312
NC StateDaniel Hackleydphackle@ncsu.eduAssistant Registrar, Military & Veterans Education919.515.3048
UNC AshevilleAmanda DeWeeseadeweese@unca.eduVA Student Services Specialist828.251.6574
UNC-Chapel HillMaDana Bivensmadana@email.unc.eduProgram Director, Carolina Veterans Resource Center919.843.9551
UNC CharlotteBill Wilsonwwilson4@uncc.eduDirector of Veteran Services704.687.5488
UNCGBrad Wrennbtwrenn@uncg.eduDirector of Military Affiliated Services336.334.5632
UNCPJasmine ColemanJasmine.Coleman@uncp.eduAssistant Director of Academic & Military Outreach910.775.4438 
UNCSATawanna Archiaarchiat@uncsa.eduMilitary Student Program Manager336.770.3399
UNCWBill Kawczynskikawczynskib@uncw.eduDirector of Military Affairs910.962.2760
Western CarolinaBriana Fordblford@email.wcu.eduDirector of Military Student Services828.227.3074
Winston-Salem StateDr. Patricia Oliveroliverpa@wssu.eduVeterans Affairs Coordinator336.750.3333