Tagged with:
Press Release

Committee will begin work to identify candidates to lead UNC-CH

RALEIGH, N.C. – University of North Carolina System President Peter Hans today announced the formation of the 13-member committee that will search for the next chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Dr. Cristy Page, executive dean of the UNC School of Medicine and chief academic officer of UNC Health, will chair the search advisory committee. She is also a tenured professor in the medical school’s Department of Family Medicine.

“A dean, faculty member and three-time Tar Heel graduate, Dr. Page brings a unique perspective to her leadership of this distinguished group,” Hans said. “I’m confident our nation’s first public university will draw a field of excellent candidates. As a proud alumnus, I am eager to get to work with a committee that represents Carolina’s vibrant and diverse campus community.”

“I am honored to lead this talented group of individuals who all have a deep love and respect for Carolina,” Page said. “Every day, I see the life-changing impact of this great university, from the education in our classrooms to the health care we provide to North Carolinians. This is an important role for the state, and we’re excited to find a leader who values our service to North Carolina.”

The search follows the departure of Kevin Guskiewicz, who will become president of Michigan State University next month after five years leading UNC-Chapel Hill. Lee Roberts began serving as interim chancellor in January.

Under UNC System policy, the search advisory committee is composed of up to 13 voting members, including representatives of the trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumni. The policy also calls for a current or former chancellor of a UNC System institution to serve, as well as members of the Board of Governors and the president or his designee.

Anita Brown-Graham, the Gladys Hall Coates Distinguished Professor of Public Law and Government and associate dean for Strategic Initiatives at the UNC School of Government, will serve as a special advisor to the committee. In her role as lead coordinator for the Carolina Across 100 initiative, Brown-Graham has worked with faculty, staff and students across campus to support community projects across the state. She will provide strategic guidance to the president and the committee chair throughout the search process and serve as the committee’s primary liaison to campus stakeholders.

The committee will offer a number of opportunities for public input, including an online survey, on-campus listening forums, and focus group interviews with key campus constituents. Representatives of faculty, staff, students, alumni and other campus stakeholders will be able to engage directly with candidate finalists.

More information about the search process will be available in the near future on the UNC-Chapel Hill website.

The members of the committee are:

  • Cristy Page (’96, ’02), professor and executive dean, UNC School of Medicine and chief academic officer of UNC Health, chair of the search advisory committee
  • Kellie Hunt Blue, member of the UNC Board of Governors, county manager for Robeson County, UNC School of Government Foundation Board of Directors
  • Jennifer Evans (‘94), member of the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees, senior executive in medical technology companies and co-chair of UNC’s $5 billion Campaign for Carolina
  • Christopher Everett, student body president and public policy major from Clayton
  • Veronica Mora Flaspoehler (’08), president of the General Alumni Association of UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Frank Gilliam, chancellor of UNC Greensboro and former dean of the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs
  • Peter Hans (‘91), president of the University of North Carolina System
  • Beth Moracco (’92, ’99), chair of the faculty and professor in UNC-CH’s Gillings School of Global Public Health
  • Katie Musgrove (’15), chair of the Employee Forum, business officer for clinical programs at the UNC School of Law
  • Jim Phillips Jr. (’79), partner at Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard
  • John Preyer (’90), chair of the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees and co-founder and president of Restoration Systems, an environmental company
  • Randy Ramsey, chair of the UNC Board of Governors and founder of Jarrett Bay Boatworks
  • Malcolm Turner (‘93), vice chair of the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees, head of strategy and corporate development at DraftKings, former vice chancellor and athletics director at Vanderbilt University