The University of North Carolina Board of Governors has selected 17 outstanding faculty members to receive the 2024 Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The award winners represent all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities and the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics. Recipients were nominated by special committees at each institution and selected by the Board of Governors Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs.

“These extraordinary faculty members have dedicated their lives to teaching and are committed to lifting up their students to become the next generation of leaders for North Carolina and the nation,” said UNC Board of Governors Chair Randy Ramsey. “We are grateful for their service and congratulate them on these awards.”

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize. The recipients will be honored at each of their institutions at a future date.

Award winners:

Appalachian State University

Brooke Elizabeth Christian

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

East Carolina University

Anne Marie Spuches

Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Chemistry

Elizabeth City State University

Kim S. Downing

Professor and Director, Social Work Program

Fayetteville State University

Robert D. Taber

Associate Professor Intelligence and Geospatial Sciences, Political Science, History

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University

Devona L. Dixon

Associate Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences

North Carolina Central University

Dr. Stefanie Frigo

Associate Professor, Language and Literature

North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Tamar Avineri

Instructor of Mathematics

North Carolina State University

Paul W. Mulvey

Associate Professor, Management, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship

University of North Carolina at Asheville

Trey Adcock

Associate Professor of American Indian and Indigenous Studies; International Studies,

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Florence Dore

Professor, English and Comparative Literature

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

M. Lyn Exum

Associate Professor, Criminal Justice and Criminology

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Eric J. Willie

Professor, School of Music

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Ryan Anderson

Professor, American Studies Minor Coordinator

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Paul Colin Sharpe

Professor, School of Music

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock

Professor, Communication Studies

Western Carolina University

Alvin Malesky

Professor, Psychology

Winston-Salem State University

Sara James Migliarese

Professor, Physical Therapy