Diversity & Inclusion Council

The UNC Diversity & Inclusion Council is an advisory body for the UNC System in support of the University’s diversity and inclusion initiatives. The University features equality of opportunity in education and employment as a core value. To support this value and to meet the University’s educational, research, and public-service goals in an increasingly diverse and global society, the University needs the talents and skills of all qualified and available individuals. To this end, the University is committed to building a culture and community that actively supports and promotes diversity and inclusion for its students, faculty, and staff, and for members of the general public who access our programs, services, and facilities.

The Diversity & Inclusion Council was created in 2020 as directed in UNC Policy 300.8.5, approved by the UNC Board of Governors on September 20, 2019, and the associated Regulation 300.8.5[R], approved by the President on September 25, 2019.

The D&I Council chair is Del Ruff, executive diversity and inclusion officer at NC A&T State University. The co-chair is Leah Cox, vice provost for equity and inclusion and chief diversity officer at UNC-Chapel Hill. D&I Council members are:

InstitutionDiversity & Inclusion OfficerTitle
NC A&T State UniversityDel Ruff (Chair)Executive Diversity and Inclusion Officer
UNC-Chapel HillLeah Cox (Co-Chair)Vice Provost for Equity and Inclusion
and Chief Diversity Officer
Appalachian State UniversityJamie ParsonChief Diversity Officer
East Carolina UniversityLaKesha Alston ForbesAssociate Provost for Equity and Diversity
Elizabeth City State UniversityTiffany HintonAssociate Vice Chancellor/Chief Diversity Officer
Fayetteville State UniversityCarl DeanAssociate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
North Carolina ArboretumAmy OwenbyDirector of Human Resources
North Carolina Central UniversityEmily GuzmanDirector, Diversity & Inclusion
NC School of Science & MathematicsJamie Butler-ChidozieAssociate Vice Chancellor for DEI
and Chief Diversity Officer
NC State UniversitySheri SchwabVice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity
UNC AshevilleLuke GivensDirector of Institutional Equity
UNC CharlotteBrandon WolfeAssociate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion
and Chief Diversity Officer
UNC GreensboroAndrea HunterChancellor’s Fellow for Campus Climate
UNC PembrokeNicolette CamposDirector of Employee Relations
and Workforce Development
UNC School of the ArtsB. Afeni McNeely CobhamAssociate Vice Chancellor and Vice Provost for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging
UNC WilmingtonDonyell RoseboroChief Diversity Officer
Western Carolina UniversityChief Diversity Officer
Winston-Salem State UniversityInterim Director of EEO/AA and Diversity
UNC System OfficeSean Womack (ex-officio)Senior Associate Vice President
for Equity, Engagement, & Employee Relations