UNC Advisory Committee on Strategic Directions

The UNC Advisory Committee on Strategic Directions included business, education and government leaders from across the state, as well as selected Board members, UNC Chancellors and faculty leadership. The Committee provided vital input in the development of UNC's five-year strategic plan, assessing North Carolina’s current and future workforce needs and recommending degree attainment goals and strategies that were responsive to those needs and changing demographics.  The group considered recommendations related to higher academic standards and competencies required for a globally competitive workforce.  

Committee Members

Thomas Ross, President, University of North Carolina  
Don Flow, Owner and CEO, Flow Automotive Companies
Steve Ballard, Chancellor, East Carolina University        
Paul Fulton, Member, UNC Board of Governors
Phil Berger, President Pro Tempore, N.C. Senate
Hannah Gage, Immediate Past Chair, UNC Board of Governors
Madhu Beriwal, President and CEO, IEM  
Frank Grainger, Vice Chairman, UNC Board of Governors
Peaches Blank, Member, UNC Board of Governors          
Peter Hans, Chairman, UNC Board of Governors
Linda Brady, Chancellor, UNC Greensboro
Robert Ingram, Retired Executive, GlaxoSmithKline
Charles Brink, Chair, UNC Staff Assembly, UNC-Chapel Hill        
Kevin Kimball, UNC Association of Student Governments Designee
Brett Carter, President, Duke Energy Carolinas  
Leroy Lail, Member, UNC Board of Governors
Jack Cecil, President, Biltmore Farms        
Cynthia Marshall, President, AT&T North Carolina
Janet Cowell, State Treasurer        
Harold Martin, Chancellor, North Carolina A&T State University
Keith Crisco, Secretary, N.C. Department of Commerce  
Floyd McKissick, N.C. Senate
Lawrence Davenport, Member, NCSU Board of Trustees
Ken Peacock, Chancellor, Appalachian State University
Lew Ebert, President, N.C. Chamber          
Scott Ralls, President, N.C. Community College System
Fred Eshelman, Member, UNC Board of Governors        
Holden Thorp, Chancellor, UNC-Chapel Hill
Jeff Tarte, Health Care Consultant
Thom Tillis, Speaker, N.C. House of Representatives