UNC Board of Governors Announces University-wide 2016 Awards for Teaching Excellence

CHAPEL HILL, NC – The Board of Governors of the 17-campus University North Carolina has chosen some of the University’s most outstanding faculty to receive its 2016 Awards for Excellence in Teaching.  The 17 recipients, representing all 16 of North Carolina’s public universities and the NC School of Science and Mathematics, were nominated by special committees on their home campuses and selected by the Board of Governors’ Committee on Personnel and Tenure.

Each of this year’s winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize.  All awards will be presented by a Board of Governors member during each campus’ spring graduation ceremonies.

The 2016 winners are:

  • Lisa Adkins Runner, associate professor, Department of Music, Appalachian State University;
  • Richard Williams, associate professor, Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, East Carolina University;
  • Ngozi Oriaku, professor, Department of Business and Economics, Elizabeth City State University;
  • Heather M. Griffiths, associate professor, Department of Sociology, Fayetteville State University;
  • Salil S. Desai, associate professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University;
  • Peggy P. Whiting, professor, Department of Allied Professions, North Carolina Central University;
  • Jeffrey A. Joines, associate professor, Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, North Carolina State University;
  • Sally Wasileski, associate professor, Department of Chemistry, UNC Asheville;
  • Michael T. Crimmins, professor, Department of Chemistry, UNC-Chapel Hill;
  • Stanley Schneider, professor, Department of Biological Sciences, UNC Charlotte;
  • Gregory P. Grieve, associate professor, Department of Religious Studies, UNC Greensboro;
  • Steven Bourquin, professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, UNC Pembroke
  • Sridhar Varadarajan, associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UNC Wilmington;
  • Dale M. Pollock, associate professor, Department of Filmmaking, UNC School of the Arts;
  • Carmen L. Huffman, associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics, Western Carolina University;
  • Manjunatha B. Bhat, associate professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Winston-Salem State University; and
  • Philip Rash, instructor of mathematics, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics.

Short biographies and photos of all 17 award recipients are available on the UNC system website.  (http://www.northcarolina.edu/board-governors-awards/teaching-awards-2016)

The oldest public university in the nation, the University of North Carolina enrolls nearly 225,000 students and encompasses all 16 of North Carolina’s public institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees, as well as the NC School of Science and Mathematics, the nation’s first public residential high school for academically gifted students. UNC campuses support a broad array of distinguished liberal-arts programs, two medical schools and one teaching hospital, two law schools, a veterinary school, a school of pharmacy, 11 nursing programs, 15 schools of education, five schools of engineering and a renowned arts conservatory.  The UNC Center for Public Television, with its 11-station statewide broadcast network, is also under the University umbrella.