Please visit the Coronavirus Resource Center . We are actively monitoring the situation and will keep this site updated with the latest policies and information.

The UNC Faculty Assembly

The UNC Faculty Assembly was established in 1972 at the request of then UNC President William Friday. The Assembly serves the President, UNC System Office, the Board of Governors, the NC General Assembly, and campus faculty and administrative bodies, as a faculty advisory body on system-wide issues. 

In addition to formulating advice and counsel on system issues, Assembly members frequently serve on working groups, policy committees, an personnel committees of the UNC System Office, as well as nominating members of the general faculty to serve on system initiatives as required. 

The Chair of the Assembly, and when present the Chair Elect, attend all Board of Governors public meetings, and serve ex-officio on the Board of Governors' Personnel and Tenure Committee, Education Policy and Planning Committee, and on the UNC System Office's Chief Academic Officers (Provost's) Council.


The Faculty Assembly meets at least five times, and typically six or more times, each academic year. Below is the meeting schedule for the 2019-2020 academic year. The location for all meetings is the C.D. Spangler Building, 910 Raleigh Rd #3916, Chapel Hill, NC 27514.

Board of Governor's Meetings

Faculty Assembly Meetings

September 19–20, 2019

September 12, 2019

September 13, 2019 | Faculty Assembly Committee Sign-Up Sheet

November 14-15, 2019 (@ECU)

October 25, 2019

December 13, 2019

November 22, 2019

January 16–17, 2020

January 24, 2020

February 20–21, 2020

February 28, 2020

March 19–20, 2020

April 3, 2020 | Sign-In Here

April 16-17, 2020 (@UNCP)

May 19–20, 2020

-Meetings are held at the UNC System Office unless noted.
-Two-day meetings scheduled at the UNC System Office may begin with Special Committee Meetings on the first day, although not yet noted on the official calendar.

Faculty Assembly Chairs

The following faculty members have served as Assembly chairs:

Term Chair University
1973-1974 Henry C. Cooke NCSU
1974-1976 Henry C. Ferrell ECU
1976-1977 Vincent M. Foote NCSU
1977-1979 (Jan.)1 Roy Carroll ASU
Feb. - June 1979 Helen M. Caldwell ECSU
1979-1981 Shirley C. Browning UNCA
1981-1984 Alan J. Hauser ASU
1984-1986 James LeRoy Smith ECU
 1986-1987 (May)2 Betty Jo Welch UNCW
1987-1988 Meada Gibb NCA&T
1988-1990 Fred Hinson WCU
1990-1991 Kathleen Kowal UNCW
1991-1993 Ken Wilson ECU
1993-1995 William Kane WCU
1995-1997 Peter Petschauer ASU
1997-1999 Laura Gasaway UNC-CH
1999-2001 Keith Howell UNCG
2001-2003 Richard Veit UNCW
2003-2005 Jeff Passe UNCC
2005-2008 Brenda Killingsworth ECU
2008-2010 Judith Wegner UNC-CH
2010-2012 Sandie Gravet ASU
2012-2014 Catherine Rigsby ECU
2014-2016 Steve Leonard UNC-CH
2016-2018 Gabriel Lugo UNCW
2018-2020 David Green NCCU
  1. Roy Carroll's term ended when he was appointed Vice President for Planning at the UNC System Office.
  2. Betty Jo Welch died in office.

Accessibility options

Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.