Vision Statement

The faculty voice in shared governance across the UNC System by way of advocacy, communication, and collaborative effort.

Mission Statement

The mission of the UNC Faculty Assembly is to advise the UNC System President, System Office, and Board of Governors by advocating for the faculty across all campuses in the development of sound policies and practices for world class university education.

In fulfilling this role, the UNC Faculty Assembly engages in the following practices:

● Partner and collaborate with Administrators, Staff, and Governing Boards to serve the students and faculty of the UNC System.

● Provide advice and counsel to the UNC President, System Office, and Board of Governors on proposed changes to System-wide policy or the UNC Policy Manual;

● Work with the UNC President and System Office in support of System-wide projects and initiatives that advance the mission of the University;

● Serve as a conduit for communicating faculty perspectives and concerns to the UNC President and System Office;

● Disseminate the UNC System Office information to the faculty at each of the constituent institutions, both directly and through the Faculty Senates;

● Identify and share ideas and best practices to support the UNC System-wide shared governance and productive collaboration between faculty and administration;

● Promote greater understanding of the role and contributions of faculty to the University and state of North Carolina within the UNC Board of Governors, General Assembly and the broader public;

● Serve as an active representative of the faculty voice at the UNC System Office, Board of Governors, and individual campus committees; and

● Ensure equitable representation and opportunity for all faculty and equal representation for every institution in the UNC System.


Delegates must be full-time members of the voting faculty of their home institution. Each constituent institution chooses its Assembly delegation according to procedures established by campus governance bodies.

The size of delegations is proportionate to the number of budgeted full-time faculty positions on a campus; the representation system allows for two, three, four, or five member delegations. Assembly bylaws specify that the length of a delegate’s term should be two or three years, according to the institution’s discretion. Bylaws also require the selection of alternate delegates.

The Faculty Assembly Executive Committee provides representation for each of the delegation size-groupings, and the HMI institutions. Members are elected and serve one-year terms. One delegate each is chosen by caucuses of campuses by delegation size:

  • Five delegate (ECU, NC State, UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC Charlotte)
  • Four delegate (Appalachian, N.C. A&T, UNC Greensboro, UNC Wilmington)
  • Three delegate (FSU, NCCU, UNC Pembroke, WCU, WSSU)
  • Two delegate (ECSU, NCSSM, UNC Asheville, UNC School of the Arts)

The body as a whole elects two members “at large,” and the chair of the HMI caucus also serves on the Executive Committee. No institution may have more than three members on the Executive Committee, including the Assembly officers.

Officers of the committee include:

  • Chair (two-year term),
  • Chair-elect (one year term in that capacity before assuming the two-year term as chair)
  • Vice Chair (two-year term)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Parliamentarian (appointed for a one-year term by the chair from among either current or past delegates)

The Assembly also has a staff liaison, who provides support at the UNC System Office.

List of Faculty Assembly Chairs

The following faculty members have served as Assembly chairs:


Henry C. Cooke
NC State University

Henry C. Ferrell
East Carolina University

Vincent M. Foote
NC State University
1977-1979 (1, January)

Roy Carroll
Appalachian State University
1979 (2, February – June)

Helen M. Caldwell
Elizabeth City State University

Shirley C. Browning
UNC Asheville

Alan J. Hauser
Appalachian State University

James LeRoy Smith
East Carolina University
1986-1987 (3, May)

Betty Jo Welch
UNC Wilmington

No Picture
Meada Gibb
NC A&T University

No Picture
Fred Hinson
Western Carolina University

Kathleen Kowal
UNC Wilmington

Ken Wilson
East Carolina University

No Picture
William Kane
Western Carolina University

Peter Petschauer
Appalachian State University

Laura Gasaway
UNC Chapel Hill

Keith Howell
UNC Greensboro

Richard Veit
UNC Wilmington

Jeff Passe
UNC Charlotte

Dr. Brenda Killingsworth
Brenda Killingsworth
East Carolina University

Judith Wegner
UNC Chapel Hill

Sandie Gravet
Appalachian State University

Catherine Rigsby
East Carolina University

Steve Leonard
UNC Chapel Hill

Gabriel Lugo
UNC Wilmington

David Green
North Carolina Central University

Timothy J. Ives
UNC Chapel Hill
  1. Roy Carroll’s term ended when he was appointed Vice President for Planning at the UNC System Office.
  2. Completed remainder of Roy Carroll’s term.
  3. Betty Jo Welch died in office.