About the University

The University of North Carolina has a rich heritage of academic excellence. Chartered in 1789, UNC was the first public university in the United States and the only one to graduate students in the eighteenth century. Today, UNC is a multi-campus university composed of 16 of North Carolina's public institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees, as well as the NC School of Science and Mathematics, the nation's first public residential high school for gifted students.  
Specifically, Article IX, section 9 of the North Carolina Constitution states that:
The General Assembly shall provide that the benefits of The University of North Carolina and other public institutions of higher education, as far as practicable, be extended to the people of the State free of expense.
With support from the General Assembly and the citizens of this great state, UNC campuses remain some of the most affordable educational investments in the country.  For more information about the evolution of the UNC system, please refer to the following articles: UNC Legislative Evolution of Public Higher Education, Successful Multicampus Governance: The North Carolina Model.
Our campuses support a broad array of distinguished liberal-arts programs, two medical schools, and one teaching hospital, two law schools, a veterinary school, a school of pharmacy, 11 nursing programs, 15 schools of education, three schools of engineering, and a specialized school for performing arts. To learn more about our campuses, academic programs and the University of North Carolina, please explore this website.




Congressional Representation by Campus

Our Time, Our Future: 2013-2018 Strategic Plan

114th Congress Policy Agenda

FY15 Appropriations Guide

Faculty and Staff Testimony

Issue Documents