UNC Engagement Council

Following the May 2012 University of North Carolina (UNC) System Engagement Summit at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, UNC President Tom Ross commissioned two multi-campus task forces to develop concise sets of indicators, or metrics, that all UNC campuses could use to assess “progress in community engagement and economic development.”

As an outgrowth of this work, the UNC Engagement Council was established in 2014 as a system-wide effort to improve the quality of life and opportunities for citizens and communities throughout North Carolina through engaged teaching, learning, service and research opportunities in academic programs, educational outreach, sponsored research, and creative and cultural activities.

Representatives appointed by the chancellors of all 17 UNC  campuses serve on the council. The council works in parallel to the UNC Economic Transformation Council to guide the UNC System as a national model for student learning, as well as community and economic engagement activities and partnerships that embrace UNC's responsibilities as a regionally-engaged university system.

Through deep engagement in identifying, addressing and resolving community challenges, UNC campuses play a critical role in community life, and students, faculty and staff gain practical knowledge that fuels scholarship and further commitment to strengthening our communities and our state. Through the work of this Council, we hope to find new ways to create community partnerships and civic learning through what might be called civic-campus co-engagement, helping us to create a new relationship between “town” and “gown” – what might be called the “communiversity.”

 

UNC Engagement Council Members

Appalachian State

Susan McCracken
Director of Career Development and Economic Engagement
mccrackensd@appstate.edu
Phone: 828-262-2040
http://act.appstate.edu/

Dr. Brian MacHarg
Director of Academic Civic Engagement
machargbd@appstate.edu
Phone: 828-262-2545
http://act.appstate.edu/act-staff

 

East Carolina

*Sharon Paynter, Chair
Director, Office of Public Service and Community Relations
paynters@ecu.edu
Phone: 252-737-1377
http://www.ecu.edu/pscr/

 

Elizabeth City State

Alonzo DeCarlo
Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
a cdecarlo@ecsu.edu
Phone: 252-335-3187
http://www.ecsu.edu/students/studentaffairs/studentlife/get-involved/community.cfm

 

Fayetteville State

Marsha McLean
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Mmclean1@uncfsu.edu
Phone: 910-672-2217
http://www.uncfsu.edu/govandcommunity/
http://www.uncfsu.edu/civic-engagement

 

NC A&T State

Craig Rhodes
Special Asst to the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
rhodesc@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-334-7006
http://www.ncat.edu/research/civic-engagement/

 

NC Central

Ontario Wooden
Associate Vice Chancellor
owooden@nccu.edu
http://www.nccu.edu/communityengagement/

 

NC School of Science and Math

Geoff Coltrane
Director of Institutional Research and Extended Program
Coltrane@ncssm.edu
Phone: 919-416-2882

 

NC State

Alice Warren
Vice Provost for Continuing Education and Interim Vice Outreach and Engagement
a lice_warren@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-515-8929
http://oe.ncsu.edu/programs/center-for-family-and-community-engagement/

 

UNC Asheville

Lisa Kloeppel
lkloeppe@unca.edu
Phone: 828-251-6498
http://oscopp.unca.edu/

 

UNC-Chapel Hill

Lynn Blanchard
Director, Carolina Center for Public Service
blanchard@unc.edu
Phone: 919-843-7568
http://ccps.unc.edu/

 

UNC Charlotte

Jeannette Sims
Director of Community Affairs
Jeanette.sims@uncc.edu
Phone: 704-687-5827
http://www.uncc.edu/landing/community

 

UNC Greensboro

Emily Janke
Director, Institute for Community and Economic Engagement
emjanke@uncg.edu
Phone: 336-256-2578
communityengagement.uncg.edu

 

UNC Pembroke

Cammie Hunt
Associate Vice Chancellor for Outreach, Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs
Cammie.hunt@uncp.edu
Phone: 910-521-6515
http://www.uncp.edu/academics/outreach/engaged-outreach

 

UNC School of the Arts

Rebecca Nussbaum
Director for Economic Development and External Relations
nussbaumr@uncsa.edu
Phone: 336-770-3339

 

UNC Wilmington

Lori Messinger
Associate Vice Chancellor for External Programs
MessingerL@uncw.edu
Phone: 910-962-3687

 

Western Carolina

Carol Burton
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies
burton@wcu.edu
Phone: 828-227-7497
http://www.engagement.wcu.edu

 

Winston-Salem State

Carol Davis
Executive Director, Atkins CDC
davisc@wssu.edu
Phone: 336-750-2360

 

UNC General Administration

Vacant