Faculty Assembly

The UNC Faculty Assembly is the elected body of representatives of the faculty of the seventeen constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina.  The Assembly is dedicated to upholding and exercising the principles of academic freedom, shared governance, tenure and the faculty's primary responsibility for the University's curriculum.

Organizational Documents

Charter of the UNC Faculty Assembly
Bylaws of the UNC Faculty Assembly
Handbook for Delegates of the UNC Faculty Assembly

A Brief History of the Faculty Assembly

In 1972, when all sixteen public senior institutions were placed under one Board of Governors, President Friday called for the creation of a Faculty Assembly.  There had been a Faculty Advisory Council within the old six-campus consolidated University of North Carolina, and the new assembly was to be its enlarged successor.

By October 1972, all sixteen constituent institutions had ratified the Assembly Charter.  The first meeting of the delegates was held on December 2, 1972.  John Sanders, then Vice President for Planning, presided as interim chair.

A second meeting was held on January 6, 1973, to begin discussions of a set of bylaws for the Assembly.  Henry C. Cooke, from North Carolina State University, was then elected chair pro tem.

A special [third] meeting was held on January 27, 1973 (presided over by Professor Cooke), for the purpose of debating and proposing revisions to Chapter VI of The Code: Academic Freedom and Tenure.

At its fourth meeting, held on February 23, 1973, the Assembly adopted its Bylaws and elected Professor Cooke to serve as chair until July 1, 1974.

The following faculty members have served as Assembly chairs:

1973-1974Henry C. CookeNCSU
1974-1976Henry C. FerrellECU
1976-1977Vincent M. FooteNCSU
1977-1979 (Jan.)1Roy CarrollASU
Feb. - June 1979Helen M. CaldwellECSU
1979-1981Shirley C. BrowningUNCA
1981-1984Alan J. HauserASU
1984-1986James LeRoy SmithECU
 1986-1987 (May)2Betty Jo WelchUNCW
1987-1988Meada GibbNCA&T
1988-1990Fred HinsonWCU
1990-1991Kathleen KowalUNCW
1991-1993Ken WilsonECU
1993-1995William KaneWCU
1995-1997Peter PetschauerASU
1997-1999Laura GasawayUNC-CH
1999-2001Keith HowellUNCG
2001-2003Richard VeitUNCW
2003-2005Jeff PasseUNCC
2005-2008Brenda KillingsworthECU
2008-2010Judith WegnerUNC-CH
2010-2012Sandie GravetASU
2012Catherine RigsbyECU
  1. Roy Carroll's term ended when he was appointed Vice President for Planning at UNC General Administration.
  2. Betty Jo Welch died in office.