NCSU Belltower

All four of NC State's nominees are selected to receive the nation's preeminent scholarship in science, math and engineering. They are: Neil Baugh, Rachel Chen, Nikhil Milind, and Ana Sofia Uzsoy.

Four NC State undergraduates with a passion for research have won prestigious Goldwater Scholarships, placing them among the nation’s most promising young scientists and engineers.

The highly competitive scholarship, awarded to 496 college sophomores and juniors, provides up to $7,500 per academic year to cover tuition, fees, books, food and housing. Named for the late Arizona Sen. Barry Goldwater, the program seeks to strengthen the nation’s leadership in science and technology.

NC State has had 55 Goldwater Scholars since the program was established 30 years ago.

Read More


Originally published Apr. 29, 2019.



Accessibility options

Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.