CHAPTER I - ESTABLISHMENT, INCORPORATION, AND COMPOSITION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF

NORTH CAROLINA

SECTION 100. CONSTITUTIONAL ESTABLISHMENT.

The General Assembly shall maintain a public system of higher education, comprising the University of North Carolina and such other institutions of higher education as the General Assembly may deem wise. The General Assembly shall provide for the selection of trustees of the University of North Carolina and of the other institutions of higher education, in whom shall be vested all the privileges, rights, franchises, and endowments heretofore granted to or conferred upon the trustees of these institutions. The General Assembly may enact laws necessary and expedient for the maintenance and management of the University of North Carolina and the other public institutions of higher education. [North Carolina Constitution, Art. IX, Sec. 8]

SECTION 101. INCORPORATION AND CORPORATE POWERS.

The Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina shall be known and distinguished by the name of "the University of North Carolina" and shall continue as a body politic and corporate and by that name shall have perpetual succession and a common seal. It shall be able and capable in law to take, demand, receive, and possess all moneys, goods, and chattels that shall be given for the use of the University, and to apply the same according to the will of the donors; and by gift, purchase, or devise to receive, possess, enjoy, and retain forever any and all real and personal estate and funds, of whatsoever kind, nature, or quality the same may be, in special trust and confidence that the same, and the profits thereof, shall be applied to and for the use and purpose of endowing the University, and shall have power to receive donations from any source whatever, to be exclusively devoted to the purposes of the University, or according to the terms of donation.

The corporation shall be able and capable in law to bargain, sell, grant, alien or dispose of, and convey and assure to the purchasers any and all such real and personal estate and funds as it may lawfully acquire when the condition of the grant to it or the will of the devisor does not forbid it; and shall be able and capable in law to sue and be sued in all courts whatsoever; and shall have power to open and receive subscriptions, and in general may do all such things as are usually done by bodies corporate and politic, or such as may be necessary for the promotion of learning and virtue. [See G.S. 116-3]

SECTION 102. COMPOSITION OF THE UNIVERSITY.

The University of North Carolina shall constitute a single, multi-campus university composed of the following constituent institutions:

Appalachian State University,
East Carolina University,
Elizabeth City State University,
Fayetteville State University,
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University,
North Carolina Central University,
North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics,
North Carolina State University at Raleigh,
The University of North Carolina at Asheville,

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke, ¹ The University of North Carolina at Wilmington, University of North Carolina School of the Arts, ² Western Carolina University, and Winston-Salem State University.

SECTION 103. EQUALITY OF OPPORTUNITY IN THE UNIVERSITY.

Admission to, employment by, and promotion in the University of North Carolina and all of its constituent institutions shall be on the basis of merit, and there shall be no unlawful discrimination against any person on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, genetic information, or veteran status.

¹Name changed from Pembroke State University effective July 1, 1996.

²Name changed from North Carolina School of the Arts to the University of North Carolina School of the Arts effective August 1, 2008.