

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS Committee on University Governance

Dr. Lisa Levenstein (Current BOG Member)

Dr. Lisa Levenstein is director of the women's, gender, and sexuality studies program and professor of history at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Levenstein served as an assistant professor and associate professor at UNCG prior to becoming a professor. Levenstein has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Brown University, a Master of Arts degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin.

Dr. Timothy Smith (Current BOG Member)

Dr. Timothy Smith is professor and department honors director in Anthropology at Appalachian State University, where he has served as department chair and was named a Chancellor's Advanced Leadership Experience Fellow. He was recently a University of North Carolina System Executive Leadership Institute Fellow (2022-23). Prior to App State, Smith was the associate director of the Institute for the Study of Latin America and the Caribbean (2005-2006), and as associate director of the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (2004-2005). Smith has a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science from Tulane University, and a Master of Arts and Ph.D. from the University at Albany, SUNY.

Dr. Jerma Jackson

Dr. Jerma Jackson is an associate professor of history at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Jackson is on the advisory committee for the Ackland Art Museum. Jackson previously was on the selection committee for the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching (2014), the advisory committee for the Institute for Arts and Humanities (2007-10), and the advisory board for Women's and Gender Studies (2005-07). Jackson has a Bachelor of Arts from Duke University, a Master of Arts from Tufts University, and a Ph.D. from Rutgers University.