

MINUTES

April 28, 2020 University of North Carolina Via Videoconference and UNC-TV Live Stream

Call to Order

The Board of Governors met in a special session on April 28, 2020. Chair Ramsey called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He thanked the members for being available for the day's special meeting. Chair Ramsey formally welcomed Mr. Isaiah Green, president of the UNC Association of Student Governments, who recently was sworn in to serve as an *ex officio* member of the Board of Governors.

Roll Call

Secretary Burris-Floyd called the roll. The following members were present:

Darrell Allison	W. Marty Kotis, III
W. Louis Bissette, Jr.	Steven B. Long
Kellie Hunt Blue	J. Alex Mitchell
Pearl Burris-Floyd	Wendy Floyd Murphy
C. Philip Byers	Anna Spangler Nelson
Carolyn Coward	R. Doyle Parrish
N. Leo Daughtry	David Powers
Isaiah Green	Randy Ramsey
Reginald Ronald Holley	Robert Rucho
James L. Holmes, Jr.	Temple Sloan
Mark Holton	Dwight D. Stone
Terry Hutchens	Michael Williford
The following members were absent:	
Thomas H. Fetzer	Thomas C. Goolsby

State Ethics Act

Chair Ramsey stated that, under the State Ethics Act, members have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and appearances of conflicts and asked if anyone had a potential conflict. There were none.

Chair Ramsey called on Secretary Burris-Floyd for a motion to move into closed session.

**** closed sess

Secretary Burris-Floyd moved that the Board go into closed session to prevent the disclosure of information that is privileged or confidential under Article 7 of Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes, or not considered a public record within the meaning of Chapter 132 of the General Statutes; and to consult with our attorney to protect the attorney-client privilege; and to consider and give instructions concerning a potential or actual claim, administrative procedure, or judicial action; and to consider the qualifications, competence, performance, or condition of appointment of a public officer or employee or prospective public offer or employee pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1), (3), and (6).

The Board went into closed session at 10:37 a.m. and returned to open session at 11:01 a.m.

Report of the Committee on Personnel and Tenure

Mrs. Blue, chair of the committee, reported that, at its meeting held earlier in the day, the committee discussed an executive personnel matter in closed session that requires a vote by the full Board. Interim President Roper presented his nominee for the next chancellor of UNC Charlotte. The committee voted to accept the president's recommendation and submit the nominee and proposed terms of the appointment to the full Board.

Interim President Roper recommended the appointment of Dr. Sharon Gaber as the next chancellor at UNC Charlotte, effective July 1, 2020. The terms of Dr. Gaber's appointment included authorization to participate in the Chancellors' Executive Retirement Program, a bridge incentive program in recognition of her participation in a similar program at her current institution, and a university-provided residence and vehicle allowance.

Motion: Resolved, that on behalf of the Committee on Personnel and Tenure, the Board of Governors vote to accept the appointment of Dr. Sharon Gaber as the next chancellor at UNC Charlotte.

Motion: Kellie Hunt Blue Motion carried

Chair Ramsey called on UNC Charlotte's Board of Trustee Chair, Michael Wilson, for his remarks.

Mr. Wilson thanked Chair Ramsey and Mr. Powers, the Board of Governors' liaison to UNC Charlotte, for their support throughout the process. Mr. Wilson acknowledged the great support that the search committee received from Interim President Roper along with Senior Associate Vice President Lynn Duffy and Vice President Scott Murray from the UNC System Office. Mr. Wilson remarked that all the members of the committee were very confident that the search committee's work had yielded the best leader for UNC Charlotte.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:07. The next meeting of the Board of Governors is scheduled for Wednesday, May 20, 2020, at the UNC Center for School Leadership Development in Chapel Hill.

Pearl Burris-Floyd, Secretary