

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

DRAFT MINUTES

May 11, 2020 University of North Carolina Via Videoconference and UNC-TV Live Stream

Call to Order

The Board of Governors met in a special session on May 11, 2020. Chair Ramsey called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. He explained that, pursuant to UNC Policy 200.2 – Election Procedures, the day's meeting was for the specific purpose of conducting nominations and elections of Board officers. Chair Ramsey explained that the meeting would be conducted pursuant to new amendments to the Open Meetings Act that apply during states of emergencies. The amendments were signed into law the previous week and allow for public bodies to meet via electronic means. The new law does require that votes be taken via roll call. Finally, pursuant to the amendments to the law, all chats, instant messages, texts, or other written communications between members of the Board regarding the transaction of the public business during the remote meeting are deemed a public record.

Roll Call

Secretary Burris-Floyd called the roll. The following members were present:

Darrell Allison Terry Hutchens
W. Louis Bissette, Jr. W. Marty Kotis III
Kellie Hunt Blue Steven B. Long
Pearl Burris-Floyd J. Alex Mitchell

C. Philip Byers Wendy Floyd Murphy
Carolyn Coward Anna Spangler Nelson
N. Leo Daughtry R. Doyle Parrish

Isiah Green David Powers
Thomas C. Goolsby Randy Ramsey
Reginald Ronald Holley Robert Rucho
James L. Holmes, Jr. Temple Sloan
Martin Holton Michael Williford

The following member was absent:

Thomas H. Fetzer Dwight D. Stone

State Ethics Act

Chair Ramsey stated that, under the State Ethics Act, members have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest andappearances of conflicts and asked if anyone had a potential conflict. There were none.

Election of Officers of the Board of Governors

Mr. Powers, chair of the Committee on University Governance, reported that Chair Ramsey had designated him with overseeing the Board elections. He referred to a recent memorandum sent to the Board last week describing the election process and policy. The current officers — Chair Ramsey, Vice Chair Murphy, and Secretary Burris-Floyd — were seeking reelection. He asked if there were additional nominations for the office of chair, vice chair, and secretary.

Mr. Powers invited open discussion and debate. Dr. Rucho expressed his concerns related to the change in the process that was established during the Board's previous meeting. Mr. Kotis expressed strong support for the slate of nominees. Per the amended Open Meetings Act, a roll call vote was conducted.

Motion: Resolved, that the Board accept the current slate of nominees, and elect Mr. Ramsey as chair; Mrs. Murphy as vice chair; and Ms. Burris-Floyd as secretary.

Motion: David Powers

Roll Call Vote	
Allison	Yes
Bissette	Non-voting
Blue	Yes
Burris-Floyd	Yes
Byers	Yes
Coward	Yes
Daughtry	Yes
Fetzer	Absent
Goolsby	Yes
Green	Non-voting
Holley	Yes
Holmes	Yes
Holton	Yes
Hutchens	Yes
Kotis	Yes
Long	Yes
Mitchell	Yes
Murphy	Yes
Nelson	Yes
Parrish	Yes
Powers	Yes
Ramsey	Yes
Rucho	No
Sloan	Yes
Stone	Absent
Williford	Yes

Motion carried with 21 votes in the affirmative and one against.

In closing, Chair Ramsey thanked the members for their support. He noted that over the past year, the Board had dealt with many issues and had accomplished much together. Chair Ramsey emphasized that there would be a great deal of work in the coming months and that he looks forward to working closely with the Board, its committee chairs, and the entire UNC System to accomplish our shared goals.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:18 p.m. The new is scheduled for Wednesday, May 20, 2020, via videoconferencing and live	
_	Pearl Burris-Floyd, Secretary