

MARGARET SPELLINGS

PRESIDENT

Post Office Box 2688, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (919) 962-4622 | president@northcarolina.edu

VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

January 31, 2018

Sen. Chad Barefoot Rep. D. Craig Horn Rep. Linda P. Johnson Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee North Carolina General Assembly 16 West Jones Street Raleigh, NC 27601

Dear Chairs:

The University of North Carolina Board of Governors was directed in S.L. 2017-57, sec. 10.13(b) to submit to the Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee a study of the University's equal opportunity and diversity and inclusion operations and policies by January 1, 2018. We appreciate your patience while the Board reviewed and approved the report for submission.

At the direction of the Board, the UNC System Office has now completed the study with the assistance of Conduent Consulting, and the Board approved the study on January 26 for transmittal to the Joint Committee. An electronic copy of the completed study is attached to this correspondence.

While not directly included in the main body of the study, the University also collected detailed job descriptions that fall within the scope of the study. Instructions on how to access these supporting materials will be provided separately to the Joint Committee in the event these items may be of interest.

At its January meeting, the Board also voted to create a special Board working group to review the study's recommendations between now and its May 2018 meeting. Following the May meeting, the working group will offer more specific recommendations for the General Assembly's consideration. Upon the completion of the working group's review and approval by the full Board, we will share those recommendations and findings with the legislature for reforms to the University's equal opportunity, diversity, and inclusion operations.

We appreciate the opportunity to submit this study to the Joint Committee and stand ready to discuss its contents and answer questions upon request.

Sincerely,

Margaret Spellings

President

cc: Board of Governors

Shelby Armentrout, Office of the Speaker Eric Naisbitt, Office of the President Pro Tem Mark Trogdon, Fiscal Research Division Matthew Brody, UNC System Office Kevin Howell, UNC System Office Drew Moretz, UNC System Office Tom Shanahan, UNC System Office