COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY GOVERNANCE

Committee on University Governance

August 6, 2015

Agenda Item 4b Resolution on Clearance Requirements

Situation: A new resolution reflecting changes to Board of

Governors' leadership positions must be considered at

the Board's August 6, 2015meeting.

Background: The Department of Defense requires UNC General

Administration to maintain its Facility Security Clearance

license.

Assessment: This is an annual resolution to be adopted by the Board

of Governors.

Action: This item requires a vote.



Constituent Universities
Appalachian State
University

East Carolina University

Elizabeth City State University

Fayetteville State University

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University

North Carolina Central University

North Carolina State University at Raleigh

University of North Carolina at Asheville

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

University of North Carolina at Wilmington

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Western Carolina University

Winston-Salem State University

Constituent High School North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

An Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action

The University of North Carolina

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

August 7, 2015

I, Joan Templeton Perry, do hereby certify that I am Secretary of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina, a state agency organized and existing under the laws of the State of North Carolina, and that the following is a true and correct copy of a resolution adopted by the Board of Governors of the said agency at a meeting held at the University of North Carolina Spangler Center on August 7, 2015 at which time a quorum was present.

WHEREAS, current Department of Defense Regulations contain a provision making it mandatory that the Chairman of the Board and principal officers meet the personnel clearance requirements established for a contractor's facility clearance; and

WHEREAS, said Department of Defense Regulations permit the exclusion from the personnel clearance requirements of certain members of the Board of Governors and other officers, provided that this action is recorded in the corporate minutes.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT DECLARED that the Chairman of the Board, the President of the University of North Carolina, the Vice President for Federal Relations and the University's Facility Security Officer at the present time do possess, or will be processed for, the required security clearance; and

BE IT RESOLVED that in the future, when any individual enters upon any duties as Chairman of the Board, the President of the University of North Carolina, the Vice President for Federal Relations or as the University's Facility Security Officer, such individual shall immediately make application for the required security clearance; and

BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER that the following members of the Board of Governors and other officers shall not require, shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to *CLASSIFIED* information in the possession of the corporation and do not occupy positions that would enable them to affect adversely corporate policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts for the Department of Defense or the User Agencies of its Industrial Security Program.

NAME TITLE

Kevin Michael FitzGerald	Senior Vice President and Chief of Staff						
Charles Edward Perusse	Senior Vice President and Chief						
	Operating Officer						
Junius John Gonzales	Senior Vice President for Academic						
	Affairs						
Thomas Cortland Shanahan	Senior Vice President and General						
	Counsel						
Roger Harold Aiken	Member						
Winston Louis Bissette, Jr.	Vice Chairman						
Pearl Burris-Floyd	Member						
Charles Philip Byers	Member						
Walter Conaway Davenport	Member						
John Clark Fennebresque	Chairman						
Hannah Dawson Gage	Emeritus Member						
Thomas Cowart Goolsby	Member						
Hiram Frank Grainger	Member						
Henry Williams Hinton	Member						
James Leroy Holmes, Jr.	Member						
Rodney Eugene Hood	Member						
Zackary Henry King	Member, Ex officio						
Joe Thomas Knott III	Member						
William Marshall Kotis III	Member						
Scott Kevin Lampe	Member						
Steven Brent Long	Member						
Joan Gilmour MacNeill	Member						
Mary Ann Maxwell	Member						
John Alexander Mitchell	Member						
William Graham Champion Mitchell	Member						
Anna Spangler Nelson	Member						
Roderick Doyle Parrish	Member						
Joan Templeton Perry	Member						
Therence Osatti Pickett	Member						
David Murphy Powers	Member						
Robert Sterling Rippy	Member						
O. Temple Sloan III	Member						
Harry Leo Smith, Jr.	Member						
John Craig Souza	Member						
George Albert Sywassink, Jr.	Member						
William Arthur Webb	Member						
Laura Ives Wiley	Member						
William Leighton Williford	Member						

of The	Board	of	Governors	of	the	University	of	North	Carolina	this	7^{th}	day	of
August	2015.												

Joan Templeton Perry, Secretary
Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina