Principal: Matthew Price (reappointment)

Matthew Price is a graduate of East Carolina University, where he earned his Bachelor of Science in secondary science education followed by his Master of School Administration. He has over 15 years of education experience. Mr. Price proudly serves as a principal in Wake County Public Schools.

Beginning Teacher: Taleek Harlee (reappointment)

Taleek Harlee is a 2022 graduate of NC State University. He holds Bachelor of Science in agricultural education with a concentration in horticultural science and is a former North Carolina Teaching Fellow. Mr. Harlee is entering his second year as a horticulture teacher at his alma mater of Purnell Swett High School in Robeson County. A published author, Mr. Harlee is currently pursuing his master's degree in agriculture education at NC State. During his undergraduate time at NC State, Mr. Harlee served as a College of Agriculture and Life Science senator, was vice chair of the student government committee on government relations and oversight, served as a diversity and education ambassador, and served on several university hiring committees. Mr. Harlee also worked as a student coordinator for Multicultural Student Affairs and served as a North Carolina Cooperative Extension intern.

Local Board of Education Member: Debora Powell (reappointment)

The Rev. Dr. Debora Powell attended East Carolina University, where she received a Bachelor of Science in special education with a minor in psychology. While attending ECU, she was initiated into the Eta Mu Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., and gained a legacy of sisterhood and service that continues today. She earned her Master of Education degree from Grand Canyon University and Doctor of Philosophy in Christian counseling through the Accredited Institute of Higher Learning through Wilson Chapel Church. A retired educator, Dr. Powell taught in Randolph, Robeson, Wilson, Wake, and Nash-Rocky Mount Schools. She was first elected to the Wilson County Board of Education in 2014 and subsequently reelected in 2018 and 2022. Dr. Powell serves on the boards for the St. John Community Development Corp. Inc., and for Dee's House, both located in Wilson, North Carolina. She is on the Committee for Persons with Disabilities, a Guardian Ad Litem, and the chaplain for the Beta Zeta Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority and has served as a mentor for H.E.R. Pride of Wilson County Schools. She also served as the liaison between Wilson County Schools and the WAGES Foster Grandparent Program.

Business/Industry Representative: Patrick Brennan (reappointment)

Patrick Brennan is a product of the North Carolina public school system and the son of North Carolina educators. His mother taught ninth-grade science at Kernersville's East Forsyth High School for many years. His grandmother was educated at the Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro), and she taught fifth grade for more than 20 years. In his professional capacity, he serves as the vice president of public policy and government relations at Learning Ally, a nonprofit dedicated to providing audiobooks that aid in the development of reading skills for students in special education. In this capacity, Mr. Brennan works nationwide with the legislatures, departments of education, and governors who have trusted Learning Ally to serve their struggling readers. Mr. Brennan is passionate about making sure that students and teachers are the beneficiaries of taking research to practice. Mr. Brennan is a member of the board of directors of the UCSF Dyslexia Center. He also serves on the board of directors of the Strategic Education Research Partnership in Washington, D.C. He graduated from Wake Forest University with a Bachelor of Arts in political science and from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Kenan-Flagler Business School with an MBA in finance.

UNC System Dean: Joy Smith (reappointment)

Joy Smith serves as the dean of the School of Education and Business and is the director of graduate education at Elizabeth City State University. She earned an AB. in Policy Studies from Dartmouth College, a JD from Northwestern University School of Law, an MBA from DePaul University's Kellstadt School of Business, and an M. Phil. and a Ph.D. from New York University's Stern School of Business. Before coming to Elizabeth City State University, she taught at Chicago's Columbia College, at New York University, and at Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne.

UNC System Dean: Malcolm Butler (appointment)

Dr. Malcolm Butler is professor and dean of the Cato College of Education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Dr. Butler earned a Bachelor of Science in physics from Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He also completed a Master of Education and a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction (science education) at the University of Florida. Dr. Butler has taught mathematics, science, and life from elementary, middle, and high school students, as well as college students. He has been affiliated with several institutions of higher education, including the College of William and Mary, Texas A&M University—Corpus Christi, the University of Georgia, the University of South Florida, and the University of Central Florida. Dr. Butler has secured over \$7 million in funding to support his research and scholarly initiatives. Dr. Butler has served in leadership capacities in his profession, include board member of NARST (a global organization for improving science education through research) and Nap Ford Community Schools Inc. (Orlando, Florida); chair of the board for the Council of Scientific Society Presidents; and president of the Association for Science Teacher Education.

NC Community College President: Amanda Lee (appointment)

Amanda Lee currently serves as the president of Bladen Community College in Dublin, North Carolina. Immediately prior to that, she served as interim chief of staff and vice president for academic affairs at Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky. Dr. Lee also served as president of Cape Fear Community College from 2015-2017. Dr. Lee has Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts from Baylor University. She has a PhD from Regent University.