Board of Governors Meeting

October 22, 2014

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

The Board of Governors met in a special joint meeting with members of the UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees on October 22, 2014, at the Kenan Center in Chapel Hill. A conference call line was established for those members unable to attend in person. Chairman Fennebresque called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

ROLL CALL

Secretary Perry called the roll. The following members were present:

Roger H. Aiken W. Edwin McMahan W. Louis Bissette, Jr. W. G. Champ Mitchell

John C. Fennebresque Hari H. Nath Alex J. Parker Hannah D. Gage Ann B. Goodnight R. Doyle Parrish H. Frank Grainger Joan Templeton Perry Therence O. Pickett Peter D. Hans Thomas J. Harrelson David M. Powers Henry W. Hinton Robert S. Rippy Harry Leo Smith, Jr. Rodney E. Hood William (Marty) Kotis III J. Craig Souza G. Leroy Lail G.A. Sywassink Scott K. Lampe Richard (Dick) Taylor Steven B. Long Raiford G. Trask III

Joan G. MacNeill Mary Ann Maxwell

The following members were absent:

James L. Holmes, Jr. (excused) Phillip D. Walker (excused)

Anna S. Nelson (excused)

Secretary Shuping-Russell called the roll. The following trustees were present:

Laura I. Wiley

Jefferson W. Brown Kelly Matthews Hopkins

W. Lowry Caudill Steven J. Lerner
Haywood D. Cochrane Andrew H. Powell
Donald William Curtis Sallie Shuping-Russell

Charles G. Duckett David D. Stone

J. Alston Gardner

The following members were absent:

Phillip L. Clay Peter T. Grauer

STATE ETHICS ACT

Chairman Fennebresque stated that under the State Ethics Act, members have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and appearances of conflicts. Looking at the agenda for the meeting, Chairman Fennebresque asked if any member had a conflict of interest or an interest that would give rise to the appearance of a conflict of interest. There were none.

Chairman Fennebresque announced that the Boards would hear a briefing by Kenneth Wainstein regarding past academic irregularities at UNC-Chapel Hill. On motion by Dr. Perry and duly seconded, the Board of Governors voted to convene in closed session. On motion by Secretary Shuping-Russell and duly seconded, the Board of Trustees voted to convene in closed session.

The Boards went into a joint closed session at 10:35 a.m. and returned to open session at 12:00 p.m.

The Board reconvened in open session at 12:00 p.m. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Secretary	