University Council on International Programs (UCIP)

The University Council on International Programs (UCIP) consists of senior international officers (SIOs) on each of the 16 campuses of higher education as well as the leadership from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, the UNC Exchange Program, and the UNC Center for International Understanding. UCIP meets regularly to advance the international agenda across the University and encourage inter-institutional programs, outreach, and communication. The UCIP Chair is appointed by the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs. Reporting through the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, UCIP has a mission to advise the President on international matters and on policies influencing the support and operation of international programs and global readiness, and to coordinate the University’s diverse international efforts to meet the growing needs associated with preparing students and citizens of North Carolina for the 21st century.

 

Campus Senior International Officers (SIOs)

Appalachian State University
Jesse Lutabingwa, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Chancellor for International Education and Development;
Professor, Government and Justice Studies 
Phone: 828-262-2046
Fax: 828-262-4037
Email
lutabingwajl@appstate.edu
Alternate:
Vacant
Executive Director 
Office of International Education an Development
Phone: 
Fax: 
Email
 
East Carolina University
James (Jim) Gehlhar, Ph.D.
Associate Vice Chancellor for International Affairs
Phone: 252-328-1936
Fax: 252-328-4813
Email
gehlharj@ecu.edu
Alternate:
Jami Leibowitz, Ph.D.
Director of Global Academic Initiatives
Phone: 252-328-9447Email
leibowitzj@ecu.edu
Elizabeth City State University
Glen Bowman, Ph.D.
Director of International Programs
Phone: 252-335-3424
Fax: 252-335-3493
Email
gcbowman@ .ecsu.edu
Alternate:
Shahid M. Shahidullah, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Dept. of Social Services
Phone: 252-335-3448
Fax:
Email
smshahidullah@mail.ecsu.edu
Fayetteville State University
Yunkai Chen, Ph.D .
Director, International Study Program
Phone: 910-672-1269
Fax: 910-672-1981
Email
ychen@uncfsu.edu
Alternate:
Sharmila Udyavar
International Student/Cultural Immersion Advisor
Phone: 910-672-2971Email
sudyavar@uncfsu.edu
NC Agricultural and Technical State University
G. Scott Jenkins, Ph.D.
 Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Undergraduate Programs
Phone: 336-285-3039Email
gsjenkins@ncat.edu
Alternate:
Allegra Johnson
Study Abroad Coordinator
Phone: 336-334-7104, ext. 2223 
Fax: 336-334-7126
Email
allegra.johnson@ncat.edu
North Carolina Central University
Janice Harper, Ph.D.
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Academic Programs
Phone: 919-530-5069
Fax: 919-530-7627
Email
jharper@nccu.edu
Alternate:
Olivia Metzger Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Office of International Affairs
Phone: 919-530-7713
Fax: 919-530-7627
Email
ojones@nccu.edu
North Carolina School of Science & Math
Jen Hill
Coordinator for Summer Programs, Distance Education
Phone: 919-416-2635Email
jen.hill@ncssm.edu
Alternate:
Tom Clayton
Director of Academic Programs
Phone: 919-416-2888Email
clayton@ncssm.edu
North Carolina State University
Bailian Li , Ph.D.
Vice Provost for International Affairs
Phone: 919-515-3201
Fax: 919-515-6835
Email
bailian_li@ncsu.edu

Alternate:
Ingrid R. Schmidt
Assoc. Vice Provost for International Affairs and Director, Study Abroad

Phone: 919-515-2087
Fax: 919-515-6021
Email
igschmid@ncsu.edu
UNC Asheville
Bonnie Parker
Director, Study Abroad/Study Away
Phone: 828-251-6666Email
bparker@unca.edu
Alternate:
Agya Boakye-Boaten, Ph.D.
Director, International Studies Program
Phone: 828-350-4564
 
Email
aboaten@unca.edu
UNC-Chapel Hill
Ron Strauss, D.M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Associate Provost for Academic Affairs,
and Chief International Officer
Phone:  919-962-4610
 

Email
ron_strauss@unc.edu

 

Alternate
Katie Bowler
Director of Global Relations
Phone:
919-962-4504
 Email
kbowler@unc.edu
UNC Charlotte
Joël Gallegos
Assistant Provost for International Programs
Phone: 
704-687-7755
Fax: 704-687-3168
Email
jagalleg@uncc.edu
Alternate:
Christina Sanchez, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Office of International Programs
Phone: 704-687-5386
Fax: 704-687-3168
Email
c.sanchez@uncc.edu
UNC Greensboro
Penelope Pynes, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for International Programs
Phone: 336-334-5404
Fax: 336-334-5406
Email
pjpynes@uncg.edu
Alternate:
Denise Bellamy
Interim Director of Study Abroad and Exchange Programs
Phone: 336-334-5404
Fax: 36-334-5404

Email  dlbellam@uncg.edu

UNC Pembroke

Mark Milewicz, Ph.D.
Interim Director, International Programs and Dean, Esther G. Manor Honors College

Phone: 910-521-66305
 
Email
.mark.milewicz@uncp.edu
Alternate:
Laura Dobson, Ph.D.
Study Abroad Coordinaator
Phone:  910-521-6523Emaill
laura.dobson@uncp.edu
UNC Wilmington
Denise M. DiPuccio, Ph.D.
Assistant Provost for International Programs
Phone: 910-962-3685
Fax: 910-962-4053
Email
dipucciod@uncw.edu
Alternate:
Kara Pike Inman
Interim Director, Education Abroad
Phone: 910-962-3685
Fax: 910-962-4053
Email
pikek@uncw.edu
UNC School of the Arts
Ward Caldwell, Ph.D.
ESL Program Director
Phone: 336-631-1515
 
Email
klaimone@uncsa.edu
Western Carolina University
Ling Gao LeBeau
Director, International Programs and Services
Phone: 828-227-7494
 
 
Email
lglebleau@wcu.edu
Winston-Salem State University
Joti Sekhon, Ph.D.
Director, Office of International Programs
Phone: 337-750-2306Email
sekhonj@wssu.edu
UNC General Administration
Vacant
Vice President for International Engagement
 

 

Vacant
International Programs Coordinator
  
Catherine Holderness, Ph.D.
Director, UNC Exchange Program
Phone: 336-334-4909
Fax: 336-256-1011
Email
c_holder@uncg.edu
Jim Fain
Executive Director, UNC Center for International Understanding
Phone: 919-420-1371
Ext. 202
Fax:
919-420-1371
Email
aghartzell@northcarolina.edu
CIU Alternate
Meredith Henderson
Director of Programs
Phone: 
919-420-1369
Ext. 217
Fax: 
919-420-1371
Email
mlh@northcarolina.edu