Eight young faculty researchers at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill have been awarded National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development awards for projects starting in 2016.

The grants, known as CAREER awards from the NSF, have a combined value of more than $5.9 million and represent the most winners in a single year for the University.

“These awards represent the future of UNC,” said Terry Magnuson, vice chancellor for research. “The projects themselves reflect the scholarly diversity and excellence of our institution. That we have eight NSF CAREER award winners this year is a testament to Carolina’s national leadership in research.”

The 2016 awardees are Eric Brustad, James Cahoon, Leslie Hicks and Alexander Miller, all assistant professors of chemistry; Nicholas Law, assistant professor of physics and astronomy; and Justin Sawon, associate professor of mathematics; all from the College of Arts and Sciences; Robert Capra, assistant professor of information and library science, School of Information and Library Science; and Kihyun “Kelly” Ryoo, assistant professor of learning sciences, School of Education.

Read more


Accessibility options

Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.