Minutes of the Committee on Public Affairs UNC Board of Governors January 11, 2007

The following Board of Governors members were present:

Leroy Lail, Chair Peter Hans
Bunny Sanders, Vice Chair
Brent Barringer Peter Keber
Ed Broadwell Fred Mills

Laura Buffaloe Gladys Ashe Robinson

Phil Dixon Al Roseman

The following staff, and others were present:

Chancellor DePaolo Miles Lackey Brenda Killingsworth Chancellor Bardo Leslie Winner Drupti Chauhan Andy Willis Russ Lea

Kimrey Rhinehardt Joni Worthington
Erin Schuettpelz Bobby Kanoy
Leslie Boney Seth Dearmin
Laura Foxx Sam Metzler

Chairman Lail called the meeting to order.

- 1. The minutes were approved on a motion from Dr. Roseman, and seconded by Mrs. Robinson.
- 2. Associate Vice President Laura Foxx provided an advancement update.
- 3. Erin Schuettpelz and Vice President Andy Wills provided an overview of the 2007 Legislative Agenda Policy Recommendations. The agenda reflects the priorities of the chancellors for the 2007 session of the NC General Assembly. The majority of the items are related to the President's Advisory Committee on Efficiency and Effectiveness (PACE). The Public Affairs committee reviewed and approved the agenda upon motion from Ms. Sanders, seconded by Mr. Hans.
- 4. Miles Lackey and Vice President Kimrey Rhinehardt provided an overview of the Fiscal Year 2008 Federal Agenda. This year's agenda is targeted and reflects the highest priorities of the chancellors. Financial Aid remains the University's highest priority with the US Congress. The committee reviewed and approved the agenda upon motion from Mr. Barringer, seconded by Ms. Sanders.
- 5. The committee reviewed the new Economic Development website created by Associate Vice President Leslie Boney and Seth Dearmin. Mr. Hayes asked the committee to make suggestions for improvement in the coming weeks.

There being no further business, the committee adjourned.