Sam Metzler Seth Dearmin

Minutes of the Committee on Public Affairs UNC Board of Governors August 10, 2006

The following committee members were present:

Leroy Lail, Chair

Bunny Sanders, Vice Chair

Peter Keber, Secretary

Brent Barringer

Ed Broadwell

John Davis

Peter Hans

Charles Hayes

Governor Holshouser

The following additional Board members, staff, and others were present:

Jeff Davies Sara Kamprath
Mark Fleming Drupti Chauhan
Joni Worthington Jim Klingler
Erin Schuettpelz
Kimrey Rhinehardt
Laura Foxx
Alan Mabe

Vice President Mark Fleming called the meeting to order.

- 1. The Committee began with the election of new officers. Mr. Davis moved to elect Leroy Lail as Chair, Bunny Sanders as Vice Chair and Peter Keber as Secretary. The vote was unanimous.
- 2. The minutes were approved on a motion from Ms. Sanders, and seconded by Ms. Robinson.
- 3. Chairman Lail announced the formation of three subcommittees. Mr. Lail wants the committee on Public Affairs to move beyond state and federal government relations into the area of economic development and public service. The three subcommittees are Legislative Affairs, Economic Transformation and Public Service. He asked committee members to let him know of their interest in each of the subcommittees.
- 4. The committee heard a summary of the 2006 Legislative Session from Vice President Mark Fleming. It was an extremely successful year with 12 of the 15 items from the Board of Governors Non-budget Legislative Agenda passing the

General Assembly. The committee thanked Chairman Hans and the staff for their hard work during the legislative session.

5. The committee then heard from Kimrey Rhinehardt, Assistant Vice President for Federal Relations, with an update on federal activities.

There being no further business, the committee adjourned.