## THE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY GOVERNANCE

Thursday, September 8, 2005

4:00 p.m.

## Conference Room B

## General Administration Building

## TENTATIVE AGENDA

- 1. Approval of the minutes of August 11, 2005
- 2. Approval of the minutes of August 24, 2005
- 3. Discussion of vacancies on councils and boards of trustees:
  - \*\* (a) There is a term ending June 30, 2009, on the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees. Anita Jackson of Lumberton declined to serve.
  - \*\* (b) There is a term ending June 30, 2009, on the North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees. Morris Marley of Winston-Salem declined to serve.
  - \*\* (c) There is a partial term ending June 30, 2007, on the North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees. This vacancy results from the resignation of Rodney Hood of Washington, DC.
  - \*\* (d) There are eight terms ending June 30, 2009, on the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees. Suzanne Baker, William P. H. Cary, Michael Cummings, Margaret A. Ellis, Helen R. LeGette, James M. Rose, Sr., Nathaniel C. Vase, and Marvin M. Ward are currently serving. They represent two non-residency appointments and Congressional Districts 7, 1, 6, 11, 3, and 5, respectively. Ms. Baker, Mr. Cary, and Ms. Ellis are eligible for reappointment.
  - \*\* (e) There are five terms ending June 30, 2009, on the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Educational Advisory Council. Scott Allen Bales. Dorothy J. Mebane, William L. Sanders, Nathan F. Simms, Jr., and David A. Emmerling are currently serving. All are eligible for reappointment.
    - (f) There are two terms ending October 31, 2006, to serve as directors of the Research Triangle Foundation.
    - (g) There is a partial term ending June 30, 2006, on the UNC Center for Public Television Board of Trustees. This vacancy results from the death of Lois Britt of Mount Olive.

- (h) There are four terms ending October 31, 2009, on the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching Board of Trustees. They are Allen Burris of Hatteras, representing Education District 1; Scott Griffin of Mount Holly, representing Education District 6; Guy Smith of Lexington, representing Education District 5; and Dorothy Thornburg of Webster, representing Education District 8. Mr. Griffin and Mr. Smith are eligible for reappointment.
- 4. Consideration of a resolution excluding BOG members from access to classified information Mr. Harrison
- 5. Consideration of an appeal Ms. Winner [Closed Session]
- 6. Other Business
  - \*\* These vacancies have been announced at a prior meeting of the Board of Governors.

ACTION ITEM FOR THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING – For the Consent Agenda, as approved by the Committee at the August 11, 2005, meeting: Policy 200.5, *Initiating and Settling Lawsuits*.

8/31/05