Board of Governors Special Meeting

February 11-12, 2016

Greensboro, North Carolina

The Board of Governors met in a special meeting on February 11-12, 2016, at the Grandover Resort, Greensboro, North Carolina. Chairman Bissette called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. on Thursday, February 11th.

ROLL CALL

Secretary Perry called the roll. The following members were present:

Roger H. Aiken

W. Louis Bissette, Jr. J. Alex Mitchell

Pearl Burris-Floyd W.G. Champion Mitchell

C. Philip Byers Anna S. Nelson Walter C. Davenport R. Doyle Parrish Hannah D. Gage Joan Templeton Perry Thomas C. Goolsby Therence O. Pickett Henry W. Hinton David M. Powers James L. Holmes, Jr. Robert S. Rippy Rodney E. Hood O. Temple Sloan III Zack H. King Harry L. Smith, Jr. W. Marty Kotis III J. Craig Souza

Scott K. Lampe G.A. Sywassink William A. Webb Steven B. Long Joan G. MacNeill Laura I. Wiley

Michael L. Williford

The following members were absent:

Ann Maxwell, H. Frank Grainger

After a welcome by Board of Governors Chairman Lou Bissette, and UNC Presidentelect Margaret Spellings, the meeting was turned over to Craig Souza, Transition Committee Chairman. Mr. Souza introduced the session facilitators from the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL): Alice Cahill, Mike Smith and Mark Holt. The facilitators reviewed the results of the Board of Governors survey (Appendix 1). The facilitators then led the Board through a smallgroup exercise, including a feedback session. The meeting was recessed for the day, to reconvene at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, February 12th.

Chairman Bissette called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. on Friday, February 12th.

ROLL CALL

Secretary Perry called the roll. The following members were present:

Ann Maxwell (by phone) Roger H. Aiken

W. Louis Bissette, Jr. J. Alex Mitchell

Pearl Burris-Floyd W.G. Champion Mitchell

C. Philip Byers Anna S. Nelson Walter C. Davenport R. Doyle Parrish Hannah D. Gage Joan Templeton Perry Thomas C. Goolsby Therence O. Pickett David M. Powers H. Frank Grainger Henry W. Hinton Robert S. Rippy James L. Holmes, Jr. O. Temple Sloan III Rodney E. Hood J. Craig Souza

Zack H. King G.A. Sywassink

William A. Webb W. Marty Kotis III Scott K. Lampe Laura I. Wiley

Steven B. Long Michael L. Williford Joan G. MacNeill

The following member was absent:

Harry L. Smith, Jr.

Craig Souza, Transition Committee Chairman, introduced J Puckett of the Boston Consulting Group, who provided a project update (Appendix B). This update was followed by remarks by President-elect Spellings, the full text of which may be found in Appendix C.

Following remarks by President-elect Spellings, the CCL facilitators then lead the Board through a small-group exercise, including a feedback session.

The meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m. on Friday, February 12th.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is scheduled for Friday, March 3, 2016, at the Rudolph Student Center at Fayetteville State University. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.

Joan Templeton Perry, Secretary

APPENDICES

(All Appendices are a part of the official record of the meeting)

Appendix A	Center for Creative Leadership Survey Results	Posted Online
Appendix B	BCG Project Update Report	Posted Online
Appendix C	Remarks from President-elect Spellings	Posted Online