

RESOLUTION HONORING

THOMAS J. HARRELSON

MEMBER, THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, THOMAS J. HARRELSON, served as a dedicated member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina since his appointment to the Board in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Harrelson has served with distinction on many of the board's standing committees: the Audit Committee from 2011 until 2013; the Committee on Public Affairs from 2014 until 2015; the Committee on University Governance from 2011 until 2015, serving as its Vice Chairman in 2012 until 2013 and then serving as its Secretary until 2015; and

WHEREAS, he provided strong leadership to several special committees of the board, including the Special Committee on Military Affairs from 2014 until 2105; the Committee on the Oliver Max Gardner Award in 2013; and the Committee on the James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service in 2014 serving as its chairman; and

WHEREAS, his broad professional experience as a state legislator, state secretary of transportation and longtime businessman has guided the Board in strengthening the University's governance principles and advanced operational efficiencies; and

WHEREAS, in 2013, Mr. Harrelson published a book *Southport's Art Newton* - a beautifully bound and illustrated book that celebrates the life of artist and photographer Art Newton, thus demonstrating his support of written and visual arts; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Harrelson embodies the core values and standards of the University, while strong in his views, he remained nonjudgmental and compassionate and has carried out his duties as a member of the Board of Governors with dignity and resolve, providing valued leadership and counsel throughout his service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina expresses its sincere gratitude to **THOMAS J. HARRELSON** for his loyal service to the University and to the State of North Carolina.

This the 22nd day of May 2015

	<u></u>	
John C. Fennebresque, Chairman	Joan Templeton Perry, Sec	cretary