

RESOLUTION HONORING

LAURA W. BUFFALOE

MEMBER, THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, LAURA W. BUFFALOE, has served as a valued member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina since 2006; and

WHEREAS, She served with distinction on four of the board's standing committees, the Audit Committee from 2007 until 2008, serving as its secretary; the Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs from 2006 until 2007, from 2008 until 2009, and then again from 2011 until 2013; the Committee on Personnel and Tenure from 2007 until 2008, and again from 2010 until 2011, serving as its vice chairman; and the Committee on University Governance from 2009 until 2010; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Buffaloe provided steady leadership to several special committees of the board, including the Committee on the O. Max Gardner Award in 2007 and then again in 2010; the Committee on the Award for Excellence in Public Service in 2012; and the Selection / Screening Committee of the 2010 Presidential Search; and

WHEREAS, This lifelong educator began her commitment to students as an eighth grade teacher at Pasquotank County Elementary School in Elizabeth City. Her long and distinguished career spanned 40 years; showcasing her true passion for students, she created the Dr. Laura W. Buffaloe Business Education Scholarship at Halifax County Community College that recognizes and promotes academic achievement and excellence for students enrolled in the Business Administration Program and aspire to seek a four-year degree; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Buffaloe has carried out her duties as a member of the Board of Governors with strong support of higher education, highlighted by her dedication to the professional development of the faculty, and always endeavoring to do what was best for the student;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina express its sincere gratitude to **LAURA W. BUFFALOE** for her loyal service to the University and to the State of North Carolina.

This the 14th day of June 2013

Peter D. Hans, Chairman