COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY GOVERNANCE

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Draft Minutes

The Committee on University Governance met Thursday, February 9, 2012, at 2:30 p.m. in Conference Room C of the Spangler Center.

Committee members present included Chairman Daughtridge, Mr. Grainger, Mr. Harrelson, Dr. McCain, Mr. McMahan, Mr. Powers, and Dr. Roseman. Chairman Gage and Mr. Barringer attended. Chancellors Ballard, Belcher, Carter, and Peacock were in attendance as were Dr. Phyllis Horns, Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences at East Carolina University and Mary Ann Lochner, General Counsel at Western Carolina University. President Ross, Vice President and General Counsel Fjeld, Associate Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs Dixon and Secretary Corgnati attended as staff.

Approval of Minutes

Upon motion of Mr. Grainger, and seconded by Dr. Roseman, the committee voted to approve the minutes of the January 12, 2012, meeting of the committee.

Discussion of Vacancies on Boards and Councils

The committee discussed vacancies on councils and boards of trustees.

There is a partial term ending June 30, 2013, on the University of North Carolina at Pembroke Board of Trustees. This vacancy results from the resignation of Thomas A. Nance of Pembroke. This vacancy will be announced.

There is a partial term ending June 30, 2015, on the University of North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees. Action was deferred.

There are two partial terms ending June 30, 2013, on the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees, representing Congressional Districts 3 and 11. Action was deferred on both vacancies.

There is a partial term ending June 30, 2012, on the State Advisory Council on Indian Education. Action was deferred.

Committee on University Governance February 9, 2012 Minutes

There are three terms ending February 28, 2017, on the Pitt County Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees. Additionally, there is a partial term ending February 29, 2016. Upon motion of Mr. Grainger and seconded by Mr. McMahan, the Committee voted to recommend the reappointment of Thomasine Kennedy of Chinquapin and Ray Rogers of Greenville and the appointment of Robert Greczyn of Cary and Mary Raab of Greenville to serve. Resumes of Mr. Greczyn and Dr. Raab are presented as Appendices A and B.

There are three terms ending June 30, 2017, on the University of North Carolina Press Board of Governors. The incumbents are William Leuchtenburg, Barbara Moran and Louise Maynor. Professors Moran and Maynor are not eligible for reappointment. These vacancies will be announced.

There is a vacancy on the Liability Insurance Trust Fund Council of the University of North Carolina Hospitals and Physicians & Associates. Upon motion of Mr. Grainger and seconded by Dr. Roseman, the Committee voted to recommend the appointment of Glenn George, Senior Vice President and General Counsel of the UNC Health Care System, to serve. See Appendix C.

Student Discipline Policies

The Committee received an update from Vice President and General Counsel Fjeld on the review of student discipline policies, and discussed a draft of proposed policy amendments. Review of these policy amendments will continue at the Committee's April meeting.

Dr. McCain moved, seconded by Mr. Grainger, that the Committee go into closed session to consult with its attorney to consider and give instructions concerning judicial actions involving Western Carolina University and North Carolina A&T State University, pursuant to North Carolina G.S. Section 143 318.11 (a) (3). The motion carried.

CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Powers moved, seconded by Mr. Grainger, that the Committee reconvene in open session. The motion carried.

OPEN SESSION

Committee on University Governance February 9, 2012 Minutes

Other Business

The Committee received the updated 2012 Spring Commencement schedule and the updated Board of Trustees meeting schedule.

Upon motion by Dr. McCain, and duly seconded, the committee voted to adjourn.