THE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY GOVERNANCE

Thursday, April 7, 2011

12:15 p.m.

Executive Conference Room

Spangler Center, Chapel Hill

AGENDA

- 1. Approval of the minutes of February 10, 2011
- 2. 2011 Trustee Selection Process
- 3. Discussion of vacancies on councils and boards of trustees:
 - (a) There is a partial term ending June 30, 2013, on the University of North Carolina at Asheville Board of Trustees. This vacancy results from the resignation of Dr. James R. Buckner of Suwanee, Georgia.
- ** (b) There is a partial term ending June 30, 2013, on the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees, representing a non-residency appointment. Robert E. Slade of Upper Marlboro, MD vacated this seat.
- ** (c) There are eight terms ending June 30, 2015, on the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees. Henry D. Kuo, D. Carr Thompson, Lavonia I. Allison, Brian D. Bailey, Marjorie Benbow, Shirley T. Frye, Alan Scott Hicks, and Sallie Johnson are currently serving. They represent two non-residency appointments and Congressional Districts 4, 9, 8, 12, 13, and 10, respectively. All are eligible for reappointment except Mr. Hicks.
- ** (d) There are three terms ending June 30, 2016, on the University of North Carolina Press Board of Governors. The incumbents are Nina S. Allen, Gillian Cell, and Eric Muller. Dr. Allen is not eligible for reappointment.
 - (e) There are three terms ending June 30, 2015, on the North Carolina Arboretum Board of Directors. These seats are currently held by John F.A.V. Cecil of Asheville, Jonathan Glover of Asheville, and Charles E. Hamner, Jr., of Chapel Hill and all are eligible for reappointment.
- 4. Other Business
 - * Some items on the agenda for this meeting may be considered in closed session under the provisions of the Open Meetings Law.
- ** These vacancies have been announced at a prior meeting of the Board of Governors. 4/8/11