Minutes of the Committee on Public Affairs UNC Board of Governors September 11, 2008

The following Board of Governors members were present: Priscilla Taylor, Chair Hannah Gage

Fred Mills, Vice Chair Governor Holshouser

Cheryl Locklear, Secretary Marshall Pitts Ray Farris Al Roseman

The following staff and others were present:

Andy Willis John W. Bardo Kimrey Rhinehardt Rosemary DePaolo Erin Schuettpelz Caroline Krisel

Chair Taylor called the meeting to order.

- 1. The minutes were approved on a motion from Governor Holshouser, and seconded by Mr. Pitts.
- 2. Chairman Gage addressed the committee regarding the new smaller size and more focused mission.
- 3. The committee discussed ways to become more effective in promoting UNC's mission to legislators. Mr. Willis expressed that the board needs to move towards a more focused approach when communicating with legislators on UNC's identified key issues.
- 4. Ms. Rhinehardt and Mr. Willis addressed the committee regarding the difficult budget year ahead.

There being no further business, the committee adjourned.