ANNUAL REPORT, 2007-2008

COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY GOVERNANCE

The Committee on University Governance is responsible for reviewing and making recommendations with respect to proposed changes in *The Code* and the Delegations of Duty and Authority, for nominating individuals for election to the sixteen institutional boards of trustees and other University related boards, and for appellate review of certain campus actions and decisions. This report summarizes the work of the Committee from November 2007 through October 2008.

The list below shows the membership of the committee at the beginning of this period.

November 2007

John W. Davis III, Chairman

Irvin A. Roseman, Vice Chairman

Charles A. Hayes, Secretary

R. Steve Bowden

Cheryl Ransom Locklear

Charles H. Mercer, Jr.

Estelle W. Sanders

Chancellor Stanley F. Battle, Ex Officio

Chancellor John F. Mauceri, Ex Officio

Effective <u>September 11, 2008</u>, the committee is now composed of the following members:

Charles H. Mercer, Jr., Chairman

R. Steve Bowden, Vice Chairman

David W. Young, Secretary

Cheryl Ransom Locklear

Fred G. Mills

Irvin A. Roseman

J. Craig Souza

Chancellor John F. Mauceri, Ex Officio

Appointments to Institutional Boards of Trustees

During 2007-2008, the committee considered a number of nominations for election to the boards of trustees at the seventeen constituent campuses. Nine recommendations for partial terms were necessary.

Pursuant to the committee's recommendation, the Board of Governors made the following appointments:

Institution	Trustee	Term Ending
ECSU	Jacob Andrew Hartsfield IV	6/30/2009
ECSU	Richard E. Rogers	6/30/2009
FSU	Terence L. Murchison	6/30/2009
NCCU	George R. Hamilton	6/30/2011
NCSSM	Robert E. Slade	6/30/2009
UNCW	Wilma W. Daniels	6/30/2011
UNCW	Cynthia G. Marshall	6/30/2011
WCU	Betty L. Siegel	6/30/2011
WSSU	Debra B. Miller	6/30/2009

Appointments to Other Boards

Pursuant to the committee's recommendations for affiliated entities to the University, the Board of Governors made the following appointments or confirmations:

Institution	Name of Board	Member	Term Ending
PCMH	Board of Trustees	Allan B. Harvin	2/28/2013
SACIE	State Advisory Council on Indian Education	Zoe W. Locklear	6/30/2012
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	Gene O. Bell	6/30/2012
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	Betty R. McCain	6/30/2012
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	Assad Meymandi	6/30/2012
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	Robert D. Teer, Jr.	6/30/2012
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	James O. Treadaway, Jr.	6/30/2010
UNC CPTV	Board of Trustees	Carl V. Venters, Jr.	6/30/2012
UNC Press	Board of Governors	W. Fitzhugh Brundage	6/30/2013

UNC Press	Board of Governors	Sherman James	6/30/2013
UNC Press	Board of Governors	Eric L. Muller	6/30/2011
UNC Press	Board of Governors	Loren Schweninger	6/30/2013

UNC Health Care System

In September 2008, the Committee received President Bowles' appointments of Timothy Burnette, Laura Clapp, James Hyler, and Richard Krasno to serve on the UNC Health Care System Board of Directors. The Board of Governors approved the Committee's recommendation to ratify each of these appointments.

Center for International Understanding Advisory Board

In May 2008, the Committee recommended the appointment of Charles A. Hayes to serve as the *ex-officio* member of the Center for International Understanding Advisory Board. The Board of Governors approved this recommendation.

In October, the Committee recommended the appointment of David W. Young to serve as the *ex-officio* member of the Center for International Understanding Advisory Board. The Board of Governors approved this recommendation.

Business and Education Technology Alliance

In May 2008, the Committee recommended the appointment Chancellor John W. Bardo to serve on the Business and Education Technology Alliance. The Board of Governors approved this recommendation.

<u>Litigation Requests / Settlements</u>

In January 2008, the Committee approved the request of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to settle litigation titled *Jennings*, et al., v. UNC-Chapel Hill, et al.

In March, the Committee approved the request of North Carolina A&T State University to settle litigation between the U. S. Department of Justice and the University of North Carolina.

Name Change for the North Carolina School of the Arts

In May 2008, the Committee recommended approval of a resolution approved by the North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees that asked the Board of Governors to modify the School of the Arts name to include *University*. The Board of Governors approved the request to change the name to the University of North Carolina School of the Arts at its May meeting and agreed to ask the General Assembly to consider this change during the legislative session.

Amendments to The Code and related Policies

In November 2007, the Committee recommended adoption of proposed changes to *The Code* Section 302 B that would give the Board of Governors chairman the authority to designate the officers of each of the standing committees, eliminating the previous election of officers by the committee members. The Board of Governors approved these changes at its November meeting.

In January 2008, the Committee recommended approval of a number of changes to *The Code* resulting from the work of the Code 600 Committee. The Board of Governors approved these changes at its February meeting.

In February, the Committee recommended approval of new amendments to Section 603 of *The Code* resulting from the work of the Code 600 Committee. The Board of Governors approved these changes at its March meeting.

In September, the Committee recommended approval of further amendments to *The Code* and related policies brought about by the recent changes to Code 600 and the name change for the School of the Arts. The Board of Governors approved these changes at its October meeting.

2009 Trustee Selection Process

In October 2008, the Committee formally began the 2009 trustee selection process when correspondence was sent to each chancellor and each chairman of the institutional boards of trustees seeking nominations for trustees with terms beginning July 1, 2009.

Department of Defense Classified Research

The accreditation process for the University of North Carolina at Charlotte Closed Facility to meet the requirements of the National Industrial Security Program Operations Manual under which the campus will be conducting research involving Department of Defense classified information requires the Board of Governors to pass a resolution naming those members of the Board who will not have access to the information and will, therefore not be required to have personal security clearances. The Board of Governors approved the required resolution in September 2008.

Other Committee Action

At several meetings, the Committee encouraged members to visit the campuses and emphasized their attendance at meetings of the institutional boards of trustees. This initiative includes attendance at campus winter and spring commencements.

For the Committee on University Governance:

Charles H. Mercer, Jr., Chairman