Adopted 10/11/91 Amended 07/01/07 Formatted: Top: 43.2 pt

Deleted: DRAFT

DESIGNATION OF SPECIAL RESPONSIBILITY CONSTITUENT INSTITUTIONS

The Selection Criteria and Operating Guidelines for Special Responsibility Constituent Institutions, approved by the board on September 13, 1991, were forwarded to the campuses and each chancellor was given the opportunity to request designation as a special responsibility constituent institution. Ten chancellors requested that their institution be designated at the October meeting of the board. The ten institutions were:

East Carolina University Elizabeth City State University Fayetteville State University North Carolina School of the Arts North Carolina State University at Raleigh The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The University of North Carolina at Charlotte The University of North Carolina at Greensboro The University of North Carolina at Pembroke The University of North Carolina at Wilmington

In each instance the chancellor indicated his acceptance of the responsibility to carry out the additional authority on behalf of the institution, certified that the selection criteria had been met, and committed to operate under the guidelines approved by the board.

Each request for special designation was reviewed by the senior staff of General Administration, who recommended approval. As required by the legislation, the President consulted with the State Auditor regarding the designation of these ten institutions. Formal designation by the board was the only remaining action required to be taken.

On October 11, 1991, the ten institutions named above were designated special responsibility constituent institutions by the Board of Governors.

- A resolution designating Appalachian State University as a special responsibility constituent institution was adopted 03/06/92.
- A resolution designating North Carolina A&T State University as a special responsibility constituent institution was adopted 03/06/92.
- A resolution designating The University of North Carolina at Asheville as a special responsibility constituent institution was adopted 03/06/92.
- A resolution designating North Carolina Central University and Winston-Salem State University as special responsibility constituent institutions was adopted 09/10/93.
- In 1999, the General Assembly awarded the Office of General Administration of The University of North Carolina, special responsibility status. (See N.C.G.S. §§ 116-14 and 116-30.3(e).)
- <u>A resolution awarding special responsibility status to the North Carolina School of Science and</u> <u>Mathematics was adopted 2/8/02.</u>

Page 1

[•] A resolution designating Western Carolina University as a special responsibility constituent institution was adopted 03/06/92.