

**RESOLUTION HONORING** 

## **IRVIN (AL) ROSEMAN**

MEMBER, THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, IRVIN (AL) ROSEMAN, has served as a valued member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina since 2005; and

WHEREAS, He served with distinction on four of the board's standing committees, the Audit Committee from 2009 until 2011, serving as its vice chairman from 2009 until 2010, and then as its chairman from 2010 until 2011; the Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs from 2005 until 2006, and then again from 2010 until 2011; the Committee on Public Affairs from 2006 until 2009 and then again from 2011 until 2013, serving as its chairman from 2011 until 2012; and the Committee on University Governance from 2006 until 2009, serving as its vice chairman from 2007 until 2008 and then again from 2011 until 2013, serving as its secretary; and

**WHEREAS,** Dr. Roseman provided strong leadership to several special committees of the board, including the Committee on the O. Max Gardner Award in 2006 and 2011; the Selection / Screening Committee of the 2010 Presidential Search; and

**WHEREAS,** He began his formal service to the University when he was a member of the then University of North Carolina Hospitals at Chapel Hill Board of Directors from 1993 until 1997, providing strong medical guidance to that Board, especially in the area of Endodontics; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Roseman has parlayed his genuine interest in aviation into valuable support for the growth of the Aviation Science Program at Elizabeth City State University, and is in part, responsible for its growing recognition as a premier aviation science program; and

**WHEREAS,** He has carried out his duties as a member of the Board of Governors with a keen interest higher education, providing valued leadership and counsel throughout his service;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina express its sincere gratitude to **IRVIN A. ROSEMAN** for his long standing and loyal service to the University and to the State of North Carolina.

This the 14<sup>th</sup> day of June 2013

Peter D. Hans, Chairman