

RESOLUTION HONORING

ADELAIDE DANIELS KEY

MEMBER, THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, ADELAIDE DANIELS KEY, has been a valued member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina since 2003; and

WHEREAS, she served with distinction on four of the board's standing committees, the Committee on University Governance from 2003 until 2007, again from 2010 until 2011, serving as its secretary from 2004 until 2006 and vice chairman from 2006 until 2007; the Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs from 2007 until 2009, serving as secretary from 2008 until 2009; the Committee on Personnel and Tenure from 2009 until 2010, serving as its vice chairman; and the Committee on Public Affairs from 2009 until 2010; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Key provided strong leadership to numerous special committees of the board, including the Committee on the O. Max Gardner Award in 2004 and again in 2006, serving as its chairman; the Committee on the Award for Excellence in Public Service in 2008; the Committee on the University Award from 2009 until 2011; the Committee on the Awards for Excellence in Teaching in 2010; and the Selection / Screening Committee of the 2010 Presidential Search; and

WHEREAS, This distinguished philanthropist served Western Carolina University as a member of its Board of Trustees from 1993 until 2001, and as chairman of the board from 1999 until 2001; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Key has carried out her duties as a member of the Board of Governors with dignity and resolve, providing valued leadership and counsel throughout her service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina express its sincere gratitude to **ADELAIDE DANIELS KEY**, for her dedicated and loyal service to the University and to the State of North Carolina.

This the 10th day of June 2011

Hannah D. Gage, *Chairman*