

**RESOLUTION HONORING** 

## **GLADYS ASHE ROBINSON**

## MEMBER, THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

## THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, GLADYS ASHE ROBINSON, was a valued member of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina since 2001, serving until December 31, 2010; and

WHEREAS, She served with distinction on each of the board's standing committees, the Committee on University Governance in 2001, and then again from 2006 until 2007, serving as its secretary; the Committee on Budget and Finance from 2001 until 2002; the Committee on Educational Planning, Policies, and Programs from 2002 until 2006, serving as the vice chairman from 2005 until 2006, and then again from 2007 until 2008 as its secretary; the Committee on Public Affairs from 2005 until 2008; the Committee on Personnel and Tenure from 2008 until 2010, serving as its chairman from 2009 until 2010; and the Audit Committee from 2008 until 2010; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Robinson provided strong leadership to numerous special committees of the board, including the Committee on the University Award in 2002 and 2006, the Committee on the O. Max Gardner Award in 2005, serving as the chairman; the Committee on the Award for Excellence in Public Service in 2007 and 2008, serving as chairman both years; the Committee on the Awards for Excellence in Teaching in 2009 and 2010, serving as its chairman in 2010; and the Leadership Statement Committee of the 2010 Presidential Search Committee; and

WHEREAS, This distinguished health care executive carried out her duties as a member of the Board of Governors with dignity and resolve, providing valued leadership and counsel throughout her service, and now continues her support of higher education as a member of the North Carolina Senate;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina express its sincere gratitude to **GLADYS ASHE ROBINSON**, for her dedicated and loyal service to the University and to the State of North Carolina.

This the 10<sup>th</sup> day of June 2011

Hannah D. Gage, *Chairman*