Request for Authorization to Create the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the College of Basic and Applied Sciences at Fayetteville State University

Introduction

As part of organizational changes at Fayetteville State University initiated by Chancellor Bryan, FSU is proposing to divide the current College of Arts and Sciences into two new colleges—the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the College of Basic and Applied Sciences. FSU seeks to appoint an interim dean for the College of Basic and Applied Sciences in spring 2004.

Justification

Currently, the FSU College of Arts and Sciences offers all major programs at the University except those in Education, Business, and Economics. The College consists of fourteen departments. FSU proposes to separate the College into two major units—the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, consisting of nine departments, and the College of Basic and Applied Sciences, consisting of five departments (Criminal Justice, Mathematics and Computer Science, Natural Sciences, Nursing, and Psychology). Such a separation would yield greater coherence across the colleges, would be more manageable than the current structure, and would facilitate greater synergy among departments. The new arrangement would create more reasonable spans of control for both deans and allow them more time to provide leadership to departments and to support chairs and faculty members. FSU anticipates that many of its new academic programs will be created in the College of Basic and Applied Sciences and that this restructuring should facilitate multidisciplinary collaboration that is key to the development of such programs and to research that is supported with external funds.

Resources

No new state resources will be required for this reorganization. Funding has been identified for the new dean's position that will be created.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Board of Governors approve the request to establish the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the College of Basic and Applied Sciences at Fayetteville State University effective January 2004.