## APPENDIX B

## RESOLUTION HONORING

## APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY

## THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY, located in the heart of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, is the sixth largest constituent institution of the University of North Carolina, enrolling more than 14,000 students; and

**WHEREAS,** The ASU Mountaineer football team has always been a source of pride for the state of North Carolina; and

**WHEREAS**, The ASU football team has won 18 consecutive games at Kidd Brewer Stadium, dating back to the 2003 season; and

**WHEREAS**, The 2005 ASU team finished its regular season with a record of 8-3, winning the Southern Conference Championship; and

**WHEREAS**, The 2005 ASU team won four consecutive playoff games, including a 21-16 victory over the University of Northern Iowa on December 16, 2005, in Chattanooga, Tennessee to win the NCAA Division I-AA National Championship; and

**WHEREAS**, The team finished number one in the nation in both the Sports Network and the ESPN/USA Today polls; and

**WHEREAS**, In 17 seasons at ASU, Coach Jerry Moore has a record of 140-67 and is the most winning coach in the Southern Conference history; and

**WHEREAS**, Jerry Moore has been named the American Football Coaches Association's 2005 Coach of the Year and has been invited to be an assistant coach in the Hula Bowl on Saturday, January 21, 2006;

**NOW THERFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina congratulates the Appalachian State University football team, Coach Jerry Moore and his football coaching staff, Athletic Director Charlie Cobb, Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, and the entire Mountaineer community for exemplary sportsmanship, the winning of the NCAA Division I-AA National Championship, and the completion of a very successful season.

This the 13<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2006 {tc \l2 ''Adopted by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors on May 9, 2003.}