## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING**

## The University of North Carolina

November 16, 2006

The Board of Governors met in special session on November 16, 2006, by teleconference originating from the Board Room of the General Administration Building, Chapel Hill. Mr. Phillips, the chairman, called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

## **ROLL CALL**

Secretary Perry called the roll and the following members were present:

David W. Young

Bradley T. Adcock Adelaide D. Key Brent D. Barringer Charles H. Mercer, Jr. Peaches Gunter Blank Fred G. Mills F. Edward Broadwell, Jr. Charles S. Norwood Laura W. Buffaloe Cary C. Owen John W. Davis III Derek T. Pantiel Phillip R. Dixon Patsy B. Perry Ray S. Farris Jim W. Phillips, Jr. Dudley E. Flood Gladys Ashe Robinson Hannah D. Gage William G. Smith H. Frank Grainger J. Craig Souza Priscilla P. Taylor Peter D. Hans J. Bradley Wilson Charles A. Hayes

Peter Keber

The following members were absent:

James E. Holshouser, Jr.

R. Steve Bowden Irvin A. Roseman William L. Burns, Jr. Benjamin S. Ruffin G. Leroy Lail Estelle W. Sanders

\* \* \*

On motion of Dr. Perry, and seconded by Dr. Taylor, the board voted to convene in closed session pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes 143-318.11(a)(5). The motion carried. The Board of Governors went into closed session at 9:35 a.m. and returned to open session at 10:05 a.m.

\* \* \*

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Secretary