News

University of North Carolina Online

June 7, 2007

For more information, contact Joni Worthington at (919) 962-4629 or worthj@northcarolina.edu

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 7, 2007

University of North Carolina Online Puts Degree Programs Within Reach

CHAPEL HILL -- Responding to growing statewide demand for affordable access to quality higher education, the University of North Carolina system is launching the University of North Carolina Online, a central website that provides convenient one-stop access to more than 130 online degree, certificate, and licensure programs offered by the 16 UNC campuses.  This vast collection of online UNC degree programs and courses—which can be found athttp://online.northcarolina.edu is one of the largest available anywhere in the United States.  The official launch date for the new website is July 1, 2007.

The University of North Carolina Online takes full advantage of new technologies that have allowed UNC campuses to expand access to students, working adults, and others in all parts of the state who need the flexibility and convenience that online education provides.  The new searchable website lists more than 1,000 online courses that are available to qualified students for the fall 2007 semester.  The website also offers special sections with information specifically tailored for community college students and military personnel and their dependents based in North Carolina.

Initially,UNC campuses will collectively offer over 90 fully online degree programs (35 baccalaureate completion, 55 master’s, 2 doctoral) and more than 40 online certificate and licensure programs.  Programs and courses in high-need fields such as education, nursing, business, technology, and the health sciences are well represented.  Fifteen of UNC’s 16 university campuses currently offer online options, and all are expected to in the future.

“Young people and working adults all across North Carolina know they need more education to compete and win in a knowledge-based global economy,” said UNC President Erskine Bowles, “and they want a degree that means something from established universities they know and trust.  In the best tradition of our public University, the University of North Carolina Online stands for access and affordability.  It stands for academic quality.  And it stands for opportunity.”

UNC campuses make every effort to ensure that the quality of online offerings is as high or higher than comparable face-to-face offerings.  All UNC campuses are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, which requires that online offerings be similar in quality to residential offerings.

The University of North Carolina Online website will direct prospective students to desired online programs available University-wide, and students will enroll in programs or courses through the campus of their choice.  Degrees earned by enrolled students will be awarded by the campus offering the program.
  
Demand for online UNC degree offerings has grown exponentially in recent years, driven in large part by older, working students who do not live within commuting distance of a UNC campus.  While early market research suggests that the heaviest users of the University of North Carolina Online will be students aged 21-44, UNC campuses are exploring expanding online offerings as one strategy to serve the additional 80,000 students projected to enroll on the campuses by the end of the next decade.


The University of North Carolina Online
16 Universities.  One Link.  Unlimited Possibilities.
http://online.northcarolina.edu


###

NOTE TO MEDIA: For more information about the University of North Carolina Online, visithttp://online.northcarolina.edu or contact Alan Mabe, UNC Vice President for Academic Planning and University-School Programs, (919) 962-4589 or mabe@northcarolina.edu.

The following campus communications contacts can also provide more detailed information about campus participation and online offerings, website demonstrations for local media, as well as student and faculty perspectives on the online experience:

Appalachian State University: Jane Nicholson, (828) 262-2345 or nicholsonrj@appstate.edu

East Carolina University: John Durham, (252) 328-1469 or durhamj@ecu.edu.

Elizabeth City State University: Kesha Williams, (252) 335-3686 or kdwilliams@mail.ecsu.edu.

Fayetteville State University: Jeff Womble, (910) 672-1474 or jwomble@uncfsu.edu.

NC A&T State University: Mable Scott, (336) 256-0863 or mables@ncat.edu.

NC Central University: Sharon Saunders, (919) 530-6295 or ssaunders@nccu.edu.

NC School of the Arts: Does not currently offer online programs.
NC State University: Keith Nichols, (919) 515-7159 or keith_nichols@ncsu.edu

UNC Asheville: Merianne Epstein, (828) 251-6676 or mepstein@unca.edu

UNC-Chapel Hill: Lisa Katz, (919) 962-2093 or lisa_katz@unc.edu

UNC Charlotte: John Bland, (704) 687-4385 or jdbland@uncc.edu.

UNC Greensboro: Steve Gilliam (336) 334-5371 or steve_gilliam@uncg.edu

UNC Pembroke: Amber Rach, (910) 521-6863 or Amber.rach@uncp.edu.

UNC Wilmington: Dana Fischetti, (910) 962-7259 or fischetti@uncw.edu.

Western Carolina University: Bill Studenc, (828) 227-3083 or bstudenc@wcu.edu.

Winston-Salem State University: Aaron Singleton, (336) 750-2150 or singletona@wssu.edu.