Teaching and Learning with Technology Board

The Teaching and Learning with Technology (TLT) Board is comprised of one representative from each of the 17 constituent institutions and five ex-officio members representing General Administration, the faculty of the University, and its libraries. The Board identifies and studies important TLT issues across UNC and works to implement best practices, common services, and shared resources. With the overarching goal of improving teaching and learning, the Board facilitates TLT knowledge sharing and resource building among all UNC campuses.

VOTING BOARD MEMBERS (UNC CAMPUS REPRESENTATIVES):

Appalachian State University

Steven Breiner
Associate Director, Information Technology Services
Phone:
828-262-6731
breiner@appstate.edu

East Carolina University

Chris Weaver
Liaison for Learning Platforms
Phone:
252-328-9073
weaverch@ecu.edu

Elizabeth City State University

Kimberley Stevenson 
Director, Distance Education & Continuing Education
Phone:
252-335-3699
knstevenson@mail.ecsu.edu

Fayetteville State University

John Nworie
Director, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning
Phone:
910-672-1175
jnworie@uncfsu.edu

North Carolina A&T State University

Scott Simkins
Director, Academy for Teaching and Learning / Associate Professor of Economics 
Phone:
336-334-7705
Ext. 2237
simkinss@ncat.edu

North Carolina Central University

Janice Harper
Assistant Vice Chancellor for University Programs 
Phone:
919-530-5216 
jharper@nccu.edu

North Carolina State University

Donna Petherbridge
Associate Vice Provost for Instructional Support Services in Distance Education and Learning Technology Applications (DELTA) 
Phone:
919-513-3737
donna_petherbridge@ncsu.edu

University of North Carolina at Asheville

John Myers
Instructional Technology Specialist, Center for Teaching and Learning
Phone:
828-250-3885
jmyers@unca.edu

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kathleen Kyzer
Senior Manager, ITS Teaching and Learning 
Phone:
919-445-9465 
kathy_kyzer@unc.edu

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Valorie McAlpin
Director, Center for Teaching & Learning 
Phone:
704-687-3021 
vmcalpin@uncc.edu

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Ray Purdom
Director, Teaching & Learning Center
Phone:
336-334-5108
rcpurdom@uncg.edu

University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Cindy Saylor
Assistant Chief Information Officer for Educational Technologies and Client Services 
Phone:
910-521-6265 
cynthia.saylor@uncp.edu

University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Leah Kraus
Associate Vice Chancellor, Information Technology Systems Division 
Phone:
910-962-2483 
krause@uncw.edu

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Bob King
Undergraduate Academic Programs 
Phone:
336-734-2916 
kingb@uncsa.edu

Western Carolina University

Anna McFadden
Director, Coulter Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Phone:
828-227-2093
amcfadden@email.wcu.edu

Winston-Salem State University

Alvaro Galvis
Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning
Phone:
336-750-8693
galvisal@wssu.edu

North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Chris Thomas
Coordinator, NCSSM Online 
Phone:
919-416-2747
thomas@ncssm.edu

EX OFFICIO BOARD MEMBERS (ALLIED ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVES)

UNC Division of Information Resources

Susan Schwab
Executive Director of the Shared Services Alliance and Associate CIO UNC GA
Phone:
919-962-6621 sfschwab@northcarolina.edu

UNC Division of Academic Affairs

James Sadler
Associate Vice President, Academic Planning, UNC GA
Phone:
919-843-4538
jcs@northcarolina.edu

Frank Prochaska
Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, UNC GA
Phone:
919-962-3910
prochask@northcarolina.edu

UNC University Library Advisory Council

Carolyn Argentati
Associate Vice Provost and Donald E. Moreland Deputy Director of Libraries NCSU
Phone:
919-515-7188
carolyn_argentati@ncsu.edu

UNC Faculty Assembly

Sallie Ives
Associate Professor, Department of Geography and Earth Sciences UNCC 
Phone:
704-687-5919 
smives@uncc.edu

Meetings

  • Six past meetings listed